We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff & Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Save Saved
You added San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Willits, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great Staff & Excellent Service always make me want to write a review! We stayed at this hotel Thursday, Friday and Saturday night and I was very impressed with the entire staff - from valet attendents, to housekeeping to front desk. Everyone has a smile, a warm welcome and goes out of their way to assist you and go beyond. Example: My coffee maker was not working (user error) and I told the front desk person and he apologized and then offered to get me a cup of coffee from the Starbucks coffee shop next to the lobby. I was impressed that he went beyond just offering to make sure the coffee maker worked! I have to say that I believe the staff is so great because of their manager. I had a chance to meet him in the lobby in the morning and I could tell that his gracious personality is probably what is contributing to the excellent staff!

So thank you for the excellent stay - the room was very very comfortable!

Room Tip: I love the rooms that are suites - they are spacious and nicely done!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear JanBaechtel,

We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed! It was our pleasure to go above and beyond in any way we can to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. Your business is extremely important to us, and we appreciate you making us your choice in accommodations during your recent business visit. It was so nice to have had the opportunity to personally meet you. Thank you for the kind remarks, however, I must admit how very fortunate I am to have a team that is genuinely dedicated to serving our guests and making their entire experience a memorable one. Again, thank you for your excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    160
    79
    24
    18
See reviews for
64
54
24
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really enjoyed this place. The service was great, room was very spacious and food was good. I was on the concierge level and found the breakfast and evening snacks more than enough to cover my dining needs. The free shuttle is an added bonus. It only runs once an hour so don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Jason C,

It is very pleasing to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel on your recent business stay. Our staff is dedicated to going out of their way to make our guests feel special and we appreciate your comments. Also, thank you for sharing with other travelers that our Concierge Lounge provides our Concierge Tower guests with complimentary breakfast Monday through Friday, snacks all day and hors d'oeuvres Sunday through Thursday evening. We're pleased that it more than satisfied your dining needs. Again, thank you very much for the great review. We can't wait to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visiting San Francisco for a few days, stayed here for access to San Fran and San Jose. It was a pretty quiet place, the service was very good and the rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was included, and it was very good. Starbucks in lobby, and you could get just about any food delivered to the room if necessary. Quiet work space. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear SoChathamGirl,

Thank you for your kind remarks and for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are very proud of our team and all that we have to offer our valued guests. Thank you for noting how quiet our rooms are and that you would stay with us again. I look forward to seeing you upon your next visit!

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The trick to the expensive breakfast is to book online and opt for the additional $20/night for breakfast. That covers 2 adults and 2 children. Since there's really nowhere else to eat that's convenient, this is really a bargain, since the charge for coffee alone is $4.50. Our room was very quiet, mainly because there was a sitting area right off the hall, and if you closed its door, there were two doors between us and the corridor.

All the airports hotels are cut off from other services, and if you don't have a car you are stuck. We took taxis to San Mateo restaurants for dinner each night and even though the cost was roughly $10 each way, it gave us a good variety of restaurants that were all good quality.

The staff was unfailingly pleasant and greeted us both coming and going several times a day.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear tangueraz,

It is always a pleasure to read such kind comments about our hotel and all that we have to offer, including exceptional customer service.. We take great pride in catering to our guests' needs and assisting in any way possible to make their stay an enjoyable one. Your review and rating are greatly appreciated. We will look forward to having you as our guest again on your return visit to California.

Sincerely,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastalnewt001
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I decided to start frequenting Marriotts again and booked last minute with Priceline. I was booked into room 1126 on 7/8/2013 it was sub par. The couch had a huge white stain the wallpaper was peeling the windows are fogged between the pains and it was musty.

Told front desk about issues she asked if she could offer me a coffee for my trouble. I will say the person who checked me in was a nice guy he didn't charge me for parking since I couldn't get my Marriott points for the stay.

Room Tip: Dont get a ground floor room and make sure AC is working to get rid of humidity and subsequent musti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear coastalnew001,

Firstly, thank you for deciding to frequent Marriott brand hotels again. Your business is extremely important to us and we appreciate your confidence in our brand. We are sincerely sorry for the unacceptable condition of your room and response to your situation. Immediate action has been taken to not only resolve these details in your room, but also review with front desk staff our standard protocol in regard to circumstances of this nature. If there are any further details you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at our hotel at your earliest convenience. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to bring your experience to our attention. Our hope is that your trust in the Marriott brand has not been tarnished, and that you will allow us another chance to deliver the enjoyable stay and service that you deserve.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wonderful and helpful for staff. clean rooms. I only have minor complaints. No free wifi ($12.95/day), the breakfast buffet although expensive ($20) had lots of choices and tasted great. The biggest problem I had was my very noisy neighbors. I called security and it was dealt with within 5 min! Over it's a great place just be prepared to spend a little bit extra on wifi and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not joined to another
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Melissa H,

We are ecstatic to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay and that we earned your 5 star review! All of your comments and suggestions are valued by us and other travelers. It was our pleasure to promptly respond to your call in regard to the neighboring guests. There are those occasions where other guests just need a friendly reminder and we are at your service to take care of that for you. Again, thank you for your review. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the San Mateo Marriott when we were unexpectedly held over in the San Francisco area for a couple of days. In terms of location, probably the best aspect of this property is its proximity to the airport -- if you've ever been to the Chicago area, San Mateo can be compared to a place like Rosemont. Unless you're flying or attending an event, this hotel is probably not a destination, but it's a nice area that is reasonably easy to navigate. The hotel itself is pretty standard for a full service Marriott. There's a good (though overpriced) restaurant, a nice coffee and sundries market, and a decent fitness center and pool. We stayed in an executive suite on the concierge level, which was fairly average, but again, pretty standard for a Marriott. The front desk and wait staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Self-parking was steep at $22/day. Hint: To avoid spending too much money on food and drink at the hotel, there's a Trader Joe's less than a block away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear AFChicago,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent unexpected layover in the San Francisco area. As you mentioned, our close proximity to the San Francisco Airport is certainly convenient for business and leisure travelers alike, as we are also only a short distance from several business centers and many San Francisco attractions. We are pleased to receive your compliments on our staff and are certain that other travelers will appreciate your tips on our surrounding area. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience with us.

Kindest Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Address: 1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.