We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT hotel, good location, thanks to management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Save Saved
You added San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“GREAT hotel, good location, thanks to management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had a free nights stay from my Marriott Rewards visa and used for this at kind of the last minute.

Unfortunately we only had a short time here because we had an early flight and went at around 9pm at night.

We were given an upgrade to a junior suite plus a free breakfast which was very nice. The suite was wonderful, and the breakfast was really good - buffet which was like a sunday brunch including lox and other specialities.

thanks so much and am posting lots of pics.

my ONLY negative - ish was that the parking lot lights are on all night but there are black out drapes so like vegas you can shut this out.

Room Tip: ask for high room - also ask about an upgrade if you are a rewards member as this is a HUGE Property
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear SanDiegoMom08,

We are very excited to hear that you had a 5 star experience with us! It is always a great pleasure for our entire staff to receive such positive and encouraging feedback from our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing the wonderful details of your experience, as your comments and suggestions are extremely important to us. Your continued patronage to Marriott properties is greatly appreciated and we hope to have you as our loyal guest. Again, thank you for the great review!

Kindest Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    160
    79
    25
    18
See reviews for
65
54
24
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is about 20 minutes south of the San Francisco Airport and thus caters for guests arriving at SFO but doing their business to the south towards Palo Alto and the rest of Silicon Valley. The location is good at the intersection of Highway 101 and Route 92. You can be down town San Francisco in about 45 minutes or go south to San Jose in the same time. It is a straight-forward business hotel that does exactly what it says on the sticker. The large rooms are comfortable and clean. The quiet rooms are facing south and west. Room numbers ending with 15 to 65 (e.g. 2059) are south facing away from the highways and therefore more quiet. The beds are really comfortable; Good matrasses, lots of pillows to sit up straight, and crisp clean duvets. There was an in room safe and a small fridge. The TV is OK but doesn’t have HBO. Room windows can be opened.
The hotel has only 6 floors and is quite stretched out. A walk to the front desk can take 5 minutes. Staff is friendly and the breakfast is excellent. The bar in the evening is decent and the food in the adjoining restaurant is very reasonable.
Something to keep in mind: From Thursdays to Sundays the hotel lowers its rates considerably thereby attracting high school kids or convention visitors. Both can be quite noisy at times. Wouldn’t recommend this hotel on the weekends if you need a good rest and want uncluttered service in the restaurant. Otherwise it is a fine hotel. Staff is friendly and accommodating.
I would go back here again.

Room Tip: Uneven room numbers ending in 15 - 65
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Rene S,

Thank you for staying at the San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete the review and share your extensive details about your experience with us. It's wonderful to learn that you enjoyed all of the Marriott comforts and quality that keep both our business and leisure guests returning. We are very pleased that you would stay with us again. We hope to welcome you back to the U.S. very soon!

Kindest Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a beautiful property with a wonderful staff! I had booked suites for our soccer teams and regular rooms for the staff. All the rooms were ready upon arrival and the regular rooms were upgraded too! The accomodations were excellent. The breakfast was INCREDIBLE! The hotel staff was very helpful and responded to all of our requests. We are already planning on returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear otis43,

Your comments have been shared with our staff, and we are very excited to hear that you had a fabulous stay! Thank you for sharing with us and other travelers how much you and your group enjoyed our accommodations, incredible breakfast and helpful customer service. We are thrilled that you are already planning on returning next year and can't wait to impress each and every one of you again! Thank you very much for your review.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and conveniently located (with a nearby Trader Joe's and Marshall), I LOVE everything about this hotel with the exception of the nightly parking fee (of $20.00, that we were unaware of before booking). We were told that the majority of hotels charge for parking in San Fran (however, I think it would be nice to know before booking the hotel). There is one hotel, the Best Western Plus, that is also nice (not as nice as the Marriott but it is at least a three star) and offers free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Felicia B,

It's very nice to hear that you think our hotel is absolutely beautiful and conveniently located! Thank you for mentioning that you love just about everything about our San Francisco hotel. Please know that our parking fee is listed on our websites and that fees are standardly reviewed verbally when booking with a reservation agent. You will find that brand properties in our area that do not have a parking fee will most likely have higher accommodation rates. It's wonderful that you enjoyed an overall impressive stay with us! Thank you for completing the review on our property.

Kind Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed t this hotel over 2 dozen times , it has probably the friendliest staff of any !arriott in the US.
Their breakfast is excellent.
The finess center is very good.
The hotel is run very professionally

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear wagoo,

We are very excited to receive your amazing feedback and are honored by your high remarks on our friendly and professional staff! As our loyal guest, your insight is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property. We are committed to delivering an enjoyable experience along with the superior customer service our guests deserve, and we truly appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for your 5 star rating on your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camellia10
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like staying at this hotel. I always stay here when I attend the San Francisco Flower and Garden Show. With the show rate, you get free parking, which is a plus. The beds and pillows are very very comfortable. The restaurant food is good, though they can be sort of slow.

I was very ill the last time I was here, and they were able to accomodate my different needs (scrambled eggs in the afternoon, etc).

It is close to a Trader Joe's, and about two miles from a little complex with a Whole foods and a good pasta restaurant. Nice location. Also close to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with afternoon sun. Facing south or west. This will also put you on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear camellia10,

Thank you for your continued patronage. We appreciate you as our loyal guest and are extremely happy that you always enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you and providing you with yet another 5 star experience when you return!

Warm Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This Marriott Hotel is a great place. I had a special room rate due to a seminar booking. It was a great value based on that. I arrived 4 days before the "official" room discount and they honored the price anyway. The staff is trained very well. I have confidence in the security of the hotel. Gated parking with room card entry. The staff is alert to what is going on and who is walking the halls and they offer a greating and direct eye contact. My iron died and they had a new one to me in 10 minutes. Restaurant was expensive but food was good. There is a Trader Joes within walking distance, and we took advantage of that. The hotel is very clean. Beds were above average as far as comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jim D,

Thank you for sharing with other travelers that our Marriott hotel is a great place! It was our pleasure to honor your discounted seminar rate in order to accommodate your early arrival. Thank you for noting your confidence in the security at our hotel and our efficient staff. We are happy that you were comfortable in our beds and that you had an enjoyable overall experience. We do hope that whether it's travel for pleasure, business, or both, you will be back to see us again!

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Address: 1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.