We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to the Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Save Saved
You added San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in San Mateo
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our visit to the Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and conveniently located (with a nearby Trader Joe's and Marshall), I LOVE everything about this hotel with the exception of the nightly parking fee (of $20.00, that we were unaware of before booking). We were told that the majority of hotels charge for parking in San Fran (however, I think it would be nice to know before booking the hotel). There is one hotel, the Best Western Plus, that is also nice (not as nice as the Marriott but it is at least a three star) and offers free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Felicia B,

It's very nice to hear that you think our hotel is absolutely beautiful and conveniently located! Thank you for mentioning that you love just about everything about our San Francisco hotel. Please know that our parking fee is listed on our websites and that fees are standardly reviewed verbally when booking with a reservation agent. You will find that brand properties in our area that do not have a parking fee will most likely have higher accommodation rates. It's wonderful that you enjoyed an overall impressive stay with us! Thank you for completing the review on our property.

Kind Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    161
    79
    25
    18
See reviews for
65
54
24
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed t this hotel over 2 dozen times , it has probably the friendliest staff of any !arriott in the US.
Their breakfast is excellent.
The finess center is very good.
The hotel is run very professionally

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear wagoo,

We are very excited to receive your amazing feedback and are honored by your high remarks on our friendly and professional staff! As our loyal guest, your insight is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property. We are committed to delivering an enjoyable experience along with the superior customer service our guests deserve, and we truly appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for your 5 star rating on your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camellia10
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like staying at this hotel. I always stay here when I attend the San Francisco Flower and Garden Show. With the show rate, you get free parking, which is a plus. The beds and pillows are very very comfortable. The restaurant food is good, though they can be sort of slow.

I was very ill the last time I was here, and they were able to accomodate my different needs (scrambled eggs in the afternoon, etc).

It is close to a Trader Joe's, and about two miles from a little complex with a Whole foods and a good pasta restaurant. Nice location. Also close to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with afternoon sun. Facing south or west. This will also put you on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear camellia10,

Thank you for your continued patronage. We appreciate you as our loyal guest and are extremely happy that you always enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you and providing you with yet another 5 star experience when you return!

Warm Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This Marriott Hotel is a great place. I had a special room rate due to a seminar booking. It was a great value based on that. I arrived 4 days before the "official" room discount and they honored the price anyway. The staff is trained very well. I have confidence in the security of the hotel. Gated parking with room card entry. The staff is alert to what is going on and who is walking the halls and they offer a greating and direct eye contact. My iron died and they had a new one to me in 10 minutes. Restaurant was expensive but food was good. There is a Trader Joes within walking distance, and we took advantage of that. The hotel is very clean. Beds were above average as far as comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jim D,

Thank you for sharing with other travelers that our Marriott hotel is a great place! It was our pleasure to honor your discounted seminar rate in order to accommodate your early arrival. Thank you for noting your confidence in the security at our hotel and our efficient staff. We are happy that you were comfortable in our beds and that you had an enjoyable overall experience. We do hope that whether it's travel for pleasure, business, or both, you will be back to see us again!

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

It was an okay hotel. The rooms were functional but I think that the wifi charge was expensive. Good thing the company was picking up the tab. There was nice little bar in the hotel. The Starbucks only had filtered coffee so no good for any one wanting an espresso.

The hotel was close to the airport too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear 1MoreTrip,

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our functional accommodations and convenient San Francisco Airport location. Please know that The Marketplace, located on our ground floor, does offer Starbucks® coffee and specialty drinks, an espresso bar and cafe fare along with assorted sundries and gift items. We appreciate your business and want you as our loyal guest. It would be a pleasure to serve and accommodate you on your next business visit to our area.

Best,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed during a week night on business trip, and got a two-story loft that was a great room. The gym and breakfast concierge were top notch. The hotel staff was friendly. Valet parking is expensive, but the self parking isn't difficult. Wireless internet was typical for a Marriott that uses Ibahn, that is slow and inconsistent. Without the wireless difficulties in the room, I would have probably given this 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear gomavs2004,

Thank you for completing the TripAdvisor review on our hotel. We regret that your wifi connection was inconsistent and understand the importance of rapid and steady connectivity. Our third party service provider has been informed, as their performance tests and tweaks do result in an improved experience. Thank you for your wonderful compliments on your upgraded room and our friendly staff. We want you as our loyal guest and greatly appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is my second extended stay at this hotel. There were several glitches while checking in and the hotel went out of their way to compensate. The entire staff was very friendly (no plastic smiles).
I really felt that they wanted to make my stay perfect. I was working 10 hour days and this attitude made my days and nights very easy.
The room was very large, bright and comfortable.
On my wish list: baskets for recyclables.
The easy access to the freeway (rte.101) saved time. Nice to stroll in Burlingame, about 6 miles north.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Grant St.. The ones with many windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear artist81,

Thank you for your continued patronage on your extended business visits to our area. It was genuinely our pleasure to make your long hour work days more comfortable and easy. Your great suggestions will certainly be noted and discussed by our management team. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Kindest Regards,
John Parker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Address: 1770 South Amphlett Boulevard, San Mateo, CA 94402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.