We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coxhead House

Coxhead House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coxhead House to your Saves list
Coxhead House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   37 E Santa Inez Ave, San Mateo, CA 94401-2555   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 San Mateo B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Top of the line B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Sometimes B&B 's can be so full of knick-knacks of the owners personal taste that you feel you're staying in a craft store or someone's own home. But this owner fills this inn with books, treasures, and history that make you fell warm and cozy and welcome, like you were back when the house was first built. There was an attention to detail that you will really appreciate if you stay at B&Bs very often. I was in San Mateo on business, and left like I had just had a vacation. Defintiely top of the line.

Room Tip: One room had a detached bath, so ask before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed in the Angel Porch room and the "detached bathroom" described on the website requires you to walk through the living room and the kitchen which is extremely inconvenient. There was a fly buzzing around all night and when I woke up there was a spider on my suitcase. The bed cover and pillows looked old and dusty. I could have excused the bathroom walk but the insect and feeling that it wasn't clean was unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland,oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Although I had requested an early check in time due to my Japanese friend flying in from Tokyo that day, when we arrived at 3:45 p.m. we were told it would be 1 hour wait for our room. Finally, when were were shown our room, there was only 1 bed, although I had requested 2 beds. More waiting for a roll-away bed.

There was only 1 glass in the bathroom, so we borrowed a wine glass from the bedroom. There were no comfortable chairs - only 2 uncomfortable dining room chairs. The fireplace was ugly and full of ashes. The linens were shabby. There was a dried bloodstain on my pillowcase. The towels were OK and plentiful but mismatched. The bathroom shower curtain was plastic and chintzy looking.

The "full" breakfast was a joke: Lukewarm coffee in a carafe; fresh fruit (ok) - juice (ok) followed by 3 TINY oat cakes - about 3" x 3" and dry as dust. Syrup was offered. No butter, no jam on table. We choked it down and fled - and made arrangments to eat breakfast elsewhere for 2 next days.

There is a lawn and garden in the front, but you can't hang out there because there are no chairs or benches. In back, there is a table and chairs but there is so much junk around (owners' belongings?) that we didn't want to sit there.

The owners did not seem very friendly to us; when they did speak briefly to us, it was only about their adult children. When we departed after 3 days, we were not thanked or wished well, and the owner did not offer to carry our bags to the curb where we were being picked up for our trip to the airport.

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE. For $220/night not counting $79/night tax, I expected a nicer place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOCKTON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We thought this bed and breakfast was very sweet and conveniently locatated to downtown San Mateo and Burlingame and all the shopping and restaurants in the area.
We had the Angel room and we knew that the bathroom would not be located in the room but it turned out to be on the other side of the house, but we were ok with that. The only issue we had was the breakfast was very light, what was there was good but it was not really filing. We were out for a splurge and we were hungry just a little while after becuase there wasn't much there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coxhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coxhead House

Address: 37 E Santa Inez Ave, San Mateo, CA 94401-2555
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coxhead House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coxhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coxhead House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.