We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet family restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mimi's Cafe

Mimi's Cafe
2208 Bridgepointe Pkwy, San Mateo, CA 94404-1569
650-574-8767
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 361 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“sweet family restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

service was a little slow on this visit but the food was delicious and the atmosphere is just right for family groups.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food good but service horrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Several years ago we ate here and had such bad service that we vowed never to return. Well, we tried it today since our relatives wanted to. Food was good but service was worse than I remember.
We only waited 15 minutes to get seated, but food came 25 minutes later. Not too bad.
However, only 3 dishes out of 4 came to the table. One dish was missing one ingredient which they brought out after we complained. I assumed my dish was coming momentarily, but after 10 minutes we inquired and was told "it's coming" ??? It took another 5 minutes and one of the side dishes was missing. They said that is coming momentarily. It was boiled potatoes. After another 10 minutes I asked what's going on? Potatoes finally arrived. We asked to speak to a manager who did nothing more than apologize. No explanations. We did point out that we were waiting for our coffee refills after all this time. The waiter brought that but the manager never showed up to see if the service was now ok.
We won't go back. You all can go at your own risk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A "used to be nice" place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This used to be a nicer place.

its still friendly but now looks older, worn down, tardy, carpets and decor saggging and the food quality very average.

The plates are worn, old ; the food average ; the restrooms quite dirty and the paint and decor shows major signs of wear and tear.

Either the owners are not making money on this place or they are and pulling their money out to invest elsewhere.

The only plus ? The staff is still nice and friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, Low-key atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mimi's is a great place to go for lunch to get some soup, a sandwich or a salad. The corn chowder soup is deleicious. Soups and salads usually come with a choice of a muffin. The carrot muffin is really good. I don't think I have ever ordered something that I didn't like here. For dinner they often have specials. They also have a lite/healthy menu which is great when your trying to watch what your eating. Good breakfast too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
597 reviews 597 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Great Muffins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lots of specials and different menus
Plenty of choices for breakfast & lunches
Tasty dishes
Food service is normally good, but at times felt rushed
Great muffins
Has affinity club membership

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mimi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimi's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.