We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Satay Restaurant

Thai Satay Restaurant
173 E 4th Ave, San Mateo, CA 94401
(650) 342-6451
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 361 Restaurants in San Mateo
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love their curries, panang, musammum and red are the best. Their fresh catch fish is also awesome.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“we'll be going back. soon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

we meet up with a friend every couple months and try some place new. sometimes down her way (san carlos) sometimes up our way. i'd been to thai satay in SSF and had been favorably impressed. but i was totally unprepared for this location.

we went on a friday around 12:30. omg. everything was terrific. there was a table available, the gal came right away w/drink orders. our waters/teas came immediately. they gave us the time needed to make our selections. i ordered pad thai and ginger beef on the luncheon special, our friend ordered to vegetarian meals on the luncheon special and hubby ordered spicy shrimp with rice.

each of us were extremely happy with the temperature, taste and freshnessof the foods. the service was quick.

all our lunches included salad (yummy) and soup (also very yummy and tasty). mine and our friends came w/white rice and 2 selections from the menu for 8.95. hubby's included fried rice with the single shrimp dish and was 8.45.

how can you go wrong. great price, quick service, scrumptious food.

we were so happy everything turned out well, esp bringing a friend who had never been there either!

we'll be going back. soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is NOT a fancy place. They can definitely work a bit to improve the atmosphere/ decor of the restaurant. But, the food is great. Quick service, big potion, very tasty and reasonable price. They have good options of vegetarian entrees as well. My only complain is that they charge for rice. Most of the thai restaurants provide free rice when you order entree. This one is an exception.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thai in Downtown San Mateo, Ca”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Dinner after a movie. Saturday night around 6:15pm We surprisingly found parking right in front of restaurant. We had a coupon from Entertainment book. The food was good and good portion size so we could have shared. Very tasty food. We noticed an overcharge on the tab and had to remind them of our coupon. The menu said it included rice but the tab had separate charge for rice but we felt embarrassed to ask for a menu again to check the price. Will do in future though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great lunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went yesterday after seeing the reviews & agree it was awesome! At lunch you can get a deal for $8.95 I think that is salad, soup & choice of 2 entrees (& includes rice). I had the yellow curry, which was great! All the food was great, & the service was fast. The tablecloths were dirty under the glass & the part that hung over the edges, but food was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Satay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Satay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Satay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.