We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park

Central Park
50 East 5th Avenue, San Mateo, CA 94401
(650) 522-7440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 attractions in San Mateo
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Central Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Central park is located near downtown San Mateo. It has a big playground, Japanese Tea Garden ball field, tennis court, and grass area to lounge. Used to go frequently when my kids were growing up. Also had some of their birthday parties there. Good times. Have to pay for parking except on Sundays. Variety of Restaurants are very close.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very Nice Park for Picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We bought sandwiches and drinks at a restaurant that was very close. Then we enjoyed a couple of hours with our grandkids at the park. It was very pretty with lots of trees and shade. There aren't a lot of playground items, but it's nice to just stop for a while and take it easy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun For Family picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My children are 44 and 46 and I took them to Central Park when they were young, as did my mom with our family and I am 66 so its been around for a long long time. The train was the most fun of all. We loved everything about Central Park and still do!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Big park which includes a Japanese garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Big park that has lots of play equipment for children, BBQ's and picnic benches for family gatherings, rest rooms, tennis courts, and a beautiful Japanese garden to enjoy. Seasonal concessions stand and stage with music from time to time. Lots of grass and big shade trees.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is located in downtown San Mateo.its a beautiful park with something for all ages.close to great resturants.and shopping.inside is a beautiful Japaneese Garden.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Park also viewed

 

Been to Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Central Park to your Saves list