We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmares” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO

Save Saved
You added Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2175 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$5 off nightly room rate
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in San Mateo
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nightmares”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel itself is standard and customer service is nice but no staff available on certain time like early morning or mid night. The room is nice flat screen TV, Fridge, microwave. The cons : Hotel is next to trucking company for metal supply, 1 block away from a crossing rail road intersection , and some construction company right next door. Talking about 4am in the morning trucks passing by and making tons of noise, trains crossing @ 8pm -12am & every 2 hours after mid night with blowing horn and crossing Rail sounds. This is the worst area to stay while on vacation. Wifi dont work @ all. If you really have to stay in San Mateo area pick another Hotel away from that block.

Room Tip: If u staying choose the 2nd floor level and avoid the rooms toward the end cause thats where waste t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    23
    16
    38
See reviews for
25
43
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Stone Villa Inn at the end of December, 2012, and the place was great. Management very responsive (including mailing back a charger we left), and the place was clean and convenient. Obviously they had just upgraded to flat screen TVs and other amenities, because the old TVs were stacked up on a balcony ready to be taken away. And the windows open wide!
A fine place with a warm host. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Toward the back, away from El Camino Real would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This place looks ok on the outside. However, it is dirty on the inside. We booked several rooms that varied from ok to horrible. The best room was large fairly clean but smelled like chemicals. The other rooms were dirty. One room had wet carpet and the other had black mold on the wall. The owner is defensive and not customer friendly. If you want a cheap place to stay it is cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a long drive from Santa Monica. It looked nice and the room (Queen) was a very good size with a large very comfortable bed, big flat screen TV. A few niggling problems. The shower head is very low. I'm tall so it's not a complaint as such but I havn't had the problem in other places. What is not so good is the noise from the aircon outside, the strong smell in the reception and the smell of detergent In the room. Unacceptable points were the huge pair of yellowing granny pants we found when checking the room as we left and the bottle of KY I found in the draw next to the bible!! The place is good value but the management need to tighten up their act a bit. The breakfast is a bit take it or leave it as well. Put it this way, we were starving when we left but opted for hunger. Enough Said.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was to California on vacation for 1 week and I stayed in 4 hotels (Candlewood, Holiday Express, Stone Villa Inn and Red Roof). I have booked Deluxe Queen with Stone Villa Inn. Everything was excellent and way better than the other hotels I stayed, with the price being nearly half compared to other hotels I stayed at. Even the breakfast was way better with multiple options compared to the others. It was family owned and maintained very well. I would strongly recommend staying there if visiting SFO (it's 30 min drive).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything is overpriced in the Bay area, but this place is actually reasonable. The rooms are updated and some other posts talk about the beds being very firm, which they are. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors all around. I would recommend a room upstairs. The second story walkway is impossible to walk on without being heard downstairs. The breakfast was not good. Instant coffee and cereal.

Call the hotel and get the rate and then check prices on Expedia, etc.

It's an ok place to stay when you have to pay your own expenses when traveling for business. I wouldn't take my family along to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here on business.I travel frequently. This review is based on my experiences in the bay area. Curb appeal was very nice. the flower gardens are a nice touch and well taken care of in the front of the facility and also throughout the common areas, new parking lot which was freshly painted along with the entire building , appearance was very nice. Check in was fast and simple the management was very kind and helpful. The room was very clean and newly remodeled with a very comfortable upscale office chair,large desk, new 39" flat screen TV (much larger than most hotels) new lamps with the plastic still on the shades i must say these rooms must've been remodeled within the week it was very nice exceeded my expectations for the price for the area. In regards to "price" I decided to take advantage of the "call for special rates" listed on the website as opposed to using a GDS I'm glad I did I got an excellent rate! The bed was very comfortable I slept very well! the location was great too offering free private secured parking on a new parking lot. walking distance to several different style restaurants and pubs. the Airport is very close only 6 miles away and it's just 30 minutes to San Francisco or San Jose! 5 stars for the value of my experience at this hotel and I will definatley return to Stone Villa Inn when visiting the Bay area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO

Also Known As:
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco Sfo Hotel
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Address: 2175 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.