We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO to your Saves list
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2175 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OK to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I had a good experience here. The king bed room was clean and well maintained. I had booked the room on line with booking .com so when I called directly to confirm 10 minutes later they had not received a FAX yet. When I arrived 30 minutes later all was in order. Breakfast was the usual mix of continental choices. Enough to get you going but nothing special. The location was the usual motel strip along a busy road but not a noise issue unless you booked a room over the office that is up front along the roadway. A good place for an overnight or two stay if you are visiting family or such.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    45
    27
    20
    45
See reviews for
29
48
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I were in San Mateo for an event, and picked this place based on the price. We had a little trouble finding the place, but when we got there, the woman at the front desk was very friendly, and let us check in early. The check in process was a breeze.
The room was clean, but there were a few old stains on some of the linens. A second chair or a table of some sort in the room would have been nice, and I totally agree with another reviewer who mentioned the limited surface/counter area in the bathroom. Everything kept falling into the sink! The bed was very comfortable, but there were only 2 pillows.
Breakfast was okay, pretty typical continental breakfast. Overall, good for the money, and a 2-block walk to the fairgrounds.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I liked the aroma of the curry in the office but the service was just OK. For breakfast a man who has trouble with the english language stood at the door and checked for your key card. Lots of white bread bagles. some cereal and some fruit. coffee and juice. Nothing to write home about. The beds are very hard. Our bathroom had not towel bar so we had to hang towels around inside the bathroom. After an outing we returned to find NO towels and needed to call and ask for them. I love the area but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

When you check in, all you can smell is the curry aroma everywhere in the concierge office. Front desk guy has a really bad attitude, tell us if we didn't put the chairs back in the exact same way as it was (breakfast room), then we may not use it at all. Unwilling to provide additional blanket, even went as far as telling us to track down the cleaning staff to get toilet paper and shower towel ourselves. Breakfast was aweful, frozen danish, and water down orange juice from a can. BUT THE CLEANING STAFF WAS EXTREMELY NICE.

Room Tip: Use brandname websites to book the reservation to avoid hassel from the concierge indian guy. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, New York
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

When I arrived, the computer and fax machine were both down and the clerk did not have the Hotels.com confirmation. He called their number to confirm, a process which took nearly a half hour when I had arrived from Asia and needed a shower and a bed right away.

Hotel staff misled me by how far the motel was from BART and Caltrain. I was told it was a three block walk that took less than five minutes. Instead, Hayward Park station is nearly a half-hour walk and not really practical to walk there with luggage. SamTrans runs right by the hotel, but it takes 3 transfers to get to the airport and forever to get into the city.

While there was free wi-fi, my room had no table or desk where I could work. Although I couldn't get into the city for dinner, there were a few half-way decent restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the back. El Camino Real is at the front and is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

my business partner and I stayed for 1 week doing business in the San Francisco area The owners/operators provided excellent customer service, were very friendly and accommodating upon all requests. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I woke up feeling very refreshed, I really liked the beds. the breakfast was very nice it is a larger breakfast area with ample seating and quite a spread of various breakfast items it was definitely an upscale continental breakfast. The Location of Stone Villa Inn is excellent only 20 minutes to San Francisco the airport is about 15 minutes away and silicon Valley/san jose is very close also. All in all I will certainly stay at Stone Villa Inn again upon my future return to the area. This is the best value in the area period!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms if you have a lot of luggage as the facility lacks elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was good for one night but definitely no more than that because the beds are hard as a rock. I did not sleep well at all but I did find the hotel room and restroom to be clean and they did offer breakfast (pastries, bagels, fresh fruit)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO

Address: 2175 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.