We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
1855 South Norfolk Street, San Mateo, CA 94306
6503493474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 361 Restaurants in San Mateo
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
San Mateo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Fish Market is an excellent seafood restaurant.
The building sits over the lake, which gives a nice ambiance. In good weather you can sit on the deck overlooking the water.
We have always had great service here. On Friday nights you can expect a long wait if you don't have reservations, but that's really to be expected anywhere on Fridays. Other days of the week there is rarely a long wait unless it's a big party.
The clam chowder is always a must. All of the entrees are delicious.
We really enjoy the take out counter too, where you can buy pints or quarts of clam chowder and get a Louie salad to go -- same delicious food but saves some money.
I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    63
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Terrific seafood, fun restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Fish Market is large and very busy. While waiting the hostess from the Oyster bar offered free drinks to everyone. I though that was a nice touch.

The menu is astounding in its variety. We had smoked fish starter plate, clam chowder, and wonderful cioppino that had a little of everything - crab, clams, shrimp, pieces of fish all simmered in a wonderful tomato sauce. This was fantastic!

Lastly Fish Market also is a fish market, you can buy fresh fish and shell fish there.

Definitely we will go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Deserves High Ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Kat and I had a great dinner here last Sat night. Thank you Fabian for the excellent service. Even with reservation we waited 10 minutes, but no problem. Place was packed at 6:30, but we didn't feel crowded or rushed. At 8 when we left there was more space. We shared a wilted spinach salad, fresh and good flavor, but dressing could have been a little warmer to increase the wilt aspect. A nice touch when they split the into two plates without us even asking. Kat had the prosciutto-wrapped scallops and I had the mixed grill skewer (fish, shrimp and scallop), both cooked to perfection. See pictures. We both had the veggies (steamed and roasted) two different types, instead of the carbs. Veggies were done well also--just as we like, done, but not soft. Good flavors. Our dinner was very good, but dessert stole the show--Snickerdoodle brownie with ice cream and caramel and chocolate sauces. Melts in your mouth. One is enough to share!

You can view the fresh fish in the cooler when you walk in the door. Looks very fresh. Restaurant did not have any fish odor from the fresh fish or the cooked fish.

Prices were reasonable for what you got---not over-priced we didn't think.

There appeared to be some type of birthday special --- as several times during the evening the staff came to sing a special birthday song to someone at a table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great spot, amazing fresh seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

e stopped in after several people recommended this spot, we did not have a lot of time so we opted for 3 appetizers to split, it was awesome, we will return!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Terrific Fish - good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I enjoyed dinner with friends at the nearby Fish Market. I found the menu variety to be exceptional. They brought a complimentary desert for a birthday surprise that added to the experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.