We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
1855 South Norfolk Street, San Mateo, CA 94306
6503493474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 361 Restaurants in San Mateo
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Red Bluff, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently met friends for dinner but had so much fun and ate so many hors d'oeuvres that we didn't need dinner. The Garlic Cheesy Bread and Tiger Lime prawns are not to be missed. We had excellent service from a young women that was just the right amount of attentive. I have not eaten dinner here, but I would return for Happy Hour again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    63
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Arrivan in Bay Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I flew into SFO around 5:30 pm and decided to drive to The Fish Market for dinner. With no advance reservation we were able to be seated on the back porch area and had some of the greatest Crab Luis ever. Overeall a delight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempio Pausania, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant informal seafood dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As European I consider this a very good intro to seafood specialities in the US. Went there with regulars who knew the place I would like to go there again after a long working day with colleagues. Well organised for large groups

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice on the water experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went to the Fish Market when the "real" coast was obscured by fog, so chose waterfront (lagoon) view dining at the Fish Market and found the food to be excellent and the view nice. Despite being a Monday night it was quite crowded and clearly a local favorite, but we didn't have to wait. The menu had a lot of options from standards like fish and chips to fresh broiled fish of the day. There was a fish market in the lobby, so you could be assured that the fish was fresh. The service was also very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“No official vegan options, but they do a mean vegan pasta dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It seems to be a bit counter-intuitive to expect vegan options at a restaurant that is specialized in fish. They pretty much had nothing on the menu that could be considered vegan. They were creative enough to present their own vegan creation that was absolutely wonderful. The waiters understood what was meant (without the need for long explanations) and the food (noodles with a tomatoe sauce and vegetables) was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.