We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small beautiful garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The San Mateo Japanese Garden

The San Mateo Japanese Garden
Fifth Ave., San Mateo, CA
415-377-4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in San Mateo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Japanese garden located in Central Park, a tranquil spot among the high rise buildings.
sfo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small beautiful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very well kept right in San Mateo's Central Park. Only reason I didn't give it a full 5 star rating was that there are paths which are not really paths on the sides that should have been blocked off.

When I visited, there were people there taking wedding pictures; that's how beautiful it was! Trees were well trimmed, flowers well kept, and koi feed nice and fat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No one seems to know about this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Placed in the middle of the San Mateo Central Park, time seems to pause in this place. This garden relaxes you as you walk in the gates. It seems to invite you to STROLL, not briskly walk around its environs, and by doing so, your whole body just slows down and you start becoming delighted by the surroundings. I once spent a whole hour just sitting on the bench in the little hut near the gate, just people watching, enjoying the serenity... completely forgot the time, and had to be kicked out when they closed at 4pm!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A hidden treasure in San Mateo park. It is one of the reasons I loved living in San Mateo for 10 years.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A gem in San Mateo city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stumbled on this beautiful Japanese garden and were so delighted. It's right off of El Camino Real yet you don't hear any of the traffic noise, and yet it's close to downtown. There is no admission so you can take a stroll anytime (I believe) from 9-4pm. It's the perfect spot for reflection, look at the koi fish, or admire the plantings.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A gem in downtown San Mateo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've lived in San Mateo for many years; the city has consistently done an incredible job of providing great service & amenities for residents and visitors. The Japanese Garden in Central Park - and in fact all of Central Park - are a delight and tribute to the city's staff and management. The Garden is small but full of beautiful specimens of Japanese horticulture. Its a real oasis for a quiet stroll, although I managed to breach the quiet a number of times while my children were toddlers and regularly fell into the koi pond . . . but it is still charming and wonderul and I so appreciate the dedication of the city, its workers and volunteers for maintaining such a beautiful spot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The San Mateo Japanese Garden also viewed

 

Been to The San Mateo Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Mateo Japanese Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.