We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This grounds are beautiful - the resort facilities are immaculate.

The one disappointment was some of the catered meals we had as a group. Otherwise though, the restaurant & service was fantastic. They have this amazing popcorn with sugar and cinnamon and the beignets are incredible!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
84
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fourth of July weekend, we rented a four bedroom Fairway Home which was perfect for our group: 3 couples and four kids under 6. This is a small (45 rooms), quiet, exclusive, ultrahigh-end resort, yet it was as kid friendly as any place in Disneyland. It's primarily a private golf community and the golf and related services were what one expect from a private club hosting the PGA Tour and USGA championships. Immaculate fairways and greens, great caddies, excellent practice area, etc., etc. Service is exceptional and a strict no tipping policy (except for caddies and food servers) simplifies everything. Food was high quality private club food, with excellent (and very reasonable) kids menu.
Didn't use spa. Gym was adequate.

All in all, a perfect family weekend, but it would be equally great for a grown up golf trip. Fairway homes for four guys (or couples) located right on the first tee would be ideal.

Room Tip: Fairway rooms (available individually or in groups of 4 to make a Fairway Home) are most convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowchilla, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We only live 1 and 1/2 hours from here, decided to get away for a night. We sure didn't expect this. What a FABULOUS place for a getaway. We had dinner there, went for a hike and enjoyed a massage in the fabulous spa. The gold course looks wonderful but we don't really golf so we didn't use it. We did enjoy breakfast on the patio overlooking the gold course, delicious food and scenery. We will definately go back!

Room Tip: We chose a room with a jacuzzi and a living room area separate from the bedroom with a patio, very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Group of us went for Valentine's weekend and we weren't disappointed. Dinner was absolutely awesome and I highly recommend making s'mores in the portico fireplace. Service was again fantastic, and the rooms are gorgeous. Get a bungalow! Only problem, room service significantly undercooked our burger, which happened last time too. Very odd.

But I'd go back anytime

Room Tip: Bungalows or villa suites are an essential choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Beach, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Highly recommend Cordevalle for your family or friend gathering as the atmosphere is soothing and the landscape a sight for sore eyes! Service impeccable, food and wine first class. California fresh is the best way to describe this getaway! Have visited on 4 different occasions.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long holiday weekend at Cordevalle, and would definitely return there again. The service was friendly, low-key, and professional. This was not a five star experience, but was an excellent value for the money spent. The decor in our bungalow was relaxing, and well-maintained--if a bit dated. My spouse thoroughly enjoyed the spa services which were, again, a good value for the money spent as we received a spa credit through the Amex Platinum FHR program. California relaxation at its best!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalasia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wonderful staff, beautiful property and worth every penny you'll pay to be there. The golf course was tough but fun and the practice areas are fantastic -- a few minor things for other couples golfers to improve their stay:

1. You have to have a caddie since this is a member's course and it's not well marked and actually pretty tough. If you're like us, you go to resorts to golf to spend some QT together and a caddie isn't exactly part of that plan. The first round, the caddie was right there with us and it got a little awkward and he dove into his personal life and was with us every minute. The second round, Tami in the pro shop finally figured out we weren't thrilled about the situation and set us up with a fore caddie that would drive with our bags while we walked together -- perfect! Kudos to her for asking what exactly our objectives were and how we could work within the rules.

2. The food isn't great and no getting around this since you're in the middle of nowhere. We had our wedding at the Rosewood in Sand Hill and I think our expectations were a little high since that chef has a michelin star. If you're a foodie, try to go off property for a special evening.

3. Food generally is a little hard to come by when it's quiet. On Monday we finished at 3:05pm and the golf grill was closed even though everyone/our caddie told us (and documentation said) the grill would be open until dusk. It was just a quiet day and not many people were there so I think they adjusted the schedule -- anyway, that meant we had to eat at the other restaurant again, where we had been for dinner the night before and for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Address: 1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of California's Santa Cruz Mountains, CordeValle is a luxury retreat in an extraordinary setting between San Jose and the Monterey Peninsula. The resort is infused with country club charm and superb amenities including a luxury spa and 7,169-yard championship golf course by legendary designer Robert Trent Jones, Jr. Clos La Chance, the on-site winery and vineyard, offers guests the opportunity to experience California's famed wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordevalle, a Rosewood Hotel San Martin
Cordevalle a Rosewood Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.