We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Setting, 3-Star Attention to Detail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
Wailea, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“5-Star Setting, 3-Star Attention to Detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband booked a night at CordeValle for our anniversary, towards the end of our summer vacation this July. The arrival at the private gate set up high expectations. Our names were on the list, we were welcomed and given a personalized car sign to display on our dashboard.

This is a small, luxury property with some 45 guest suites and villas. Arriving at the hotel lobby we were greeted by polite and kind guest staff who assured us they'd be happy to do anything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Check in at the front desk changed the vibe immediately. Cool and aloof, we were told we were "early" and our room was not ready. Well, when my husband called from the airport 2 hours prior to confirm driving directions, that would have been a nice time to share this information. Mind you, we arrived at about 3 pm.

The desk person reviewed our package in complete detail with my husband, I was by his side as she confirmed that he had selected the "romance package" that included among other things a nice amenity and turn down service with flower petals. 5-stars to my sweet husband, 0-stars to the ditz who just showed his wife the entirety of our package! We were told the room would be ready in a while, after it went through it's final inspection. This was a Thursday night and the resort seemed very quiet but I guess they needed until after 4 pm to get our suite ready.

The room was fabulous, spacious, comfortable, even decadent. No complaints there. A nice wine amentiy was included with our package. Again the guest services staff were polite and kind, taking us up to the nearby winery for a tour and making small talk with us as we asked questions, etc. When we later returned to the room to get ready for dinner, we decided to open our bottle of wine but found no wine opener. Hmmmm, guess they missed that in their room inspection. A phone call and 10 minutes later, a wine opener was delivered.

We had originally made reservations at their fine dining restaurant, but made the mistake of deciding we wanted more casual service and to try the grill instead. The menu looked nice and the upscale casual setting on the terrace very inviting. We had a young, inexperienced waitress who was very kind and took the time to answer or get answers to our questions. She took our orders and all was going well right through wine presentation. She opened the bottle, poured a taste, and promptly recorked the bottle. This is a restaurant with an expensive, expansive wine list. That was the last we saw of her. Food was efficiently delivered by back waiters. No one ever asked how our meals were. No one ever poured our wine (we did ourselves). I finally had to ask for a blanket as the evening grew colder. All the while, each table around us was receiving a higher level of service. Around 10 pm we picked ourselves up along with what was left of our bottle of wine and went to sit inside by the fire. At that point the bartender asked if there was something he could do to assist us. Yes, could you tell us where our server is? We've been outside for almost 2 hours and haven't seen her in over an hour. OMG... I sent her home, I am so sorry. REALLY? Great attention to detail. Can we just get our check, we'll go back to our room soon.

Despite the fact that there was no surprise in the turn down service, I was still looking forward to the romantic arrival back to our suite. But guess what? Yep, they forgot about it! No turn down, no petals...All this may have spoiled someone else's night, but for us we just laughed and realized we'd have some funny memories.

We ordered room service the next morning, which arrived approximately 20 minutes after the delivery time we were given. They offered to set it up on our private courtyard which sounded like a lovely idea until we were attacked by yellow jackets. We moved ourselves inside and enjoyed our morning. They are prompt about check out and my husband had a tee time, so when asked we were specific about when we'd like our breakfast items removed so that we'd have time to shower, pack and leave the room. Guess what? They didn't come back for the dishes. We wound up moving them back outside for the yellow jackets to give us some more room to get organized, so it would have been easy for them to pick up and leave.

At check out we were asked about our stay by the similarly aloof front desk person. Lovely room, ok service. Still glowing from a great vacation and happy marriage, I played our experience down and was surprised when my husband who normally doesn't complain pushed the issue a bit and let the desk person know how disappointed we were. They knew he had a tee time and I was going to use the pool/spa for a couple of hours before needing to leave for an engagement. So they offered to "buy me 2 drinks" at the pool. At 11:00 am. Ummmm, ok but no thanks. I would have appreciated a heartfelt apology much more than the assumption I wanted to go tie one on at the pool. I left the property around 1 pm, and asked the staff to make sure to get my husband and friend's drink after golf.

Now, here is the FINAL kicker. My husband had a great round of golf with a dear friend from nearby. Chatting about our night and experience, the friend started asking leading questions. When my husband didn't answer as expected, he asked directly: "so, did you get our gift"? Gift? Noooooo.... He and his wife had ordered a nice bottle of champagne for us along with a personalized card to be delivered to our room. Oopps, I guess they forgot that too. But they didn't forget to charge him for it!

What makes me most upset about this experience? That my husband and I both LOVED the setting, the accommodations, the location and amenities. The tale unfolds slowly, and before all this happened, we talked about coming back for more than 1 night, playing golf together, hiking, horseback riding. Now that's all spoiled. I don't picture us ever returning.

The management needs to get their act together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
75
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Bermuda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the minute I checked in to the moment I checked out, everything was perfect! My bungalow was lovely and so comfortable. The food was beyond delicious...Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Blueberries (OMG!). The facilities were wonderful. The Staff, well, the best I have ever met! The only downside...I had to leave to come home. This intimate, luxurious resort is a must to anyone who loves golf, tennis, or who wants to sit and enjoy friends and family who play golf and tennis.

Room Tip: I stayed in #37...loved it! Spacious, yet cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend, oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Another fantastic Rosewood resort property! Cordevalle, while not a bargain, is a fantastic place to relax and refresh. Spent 3 nights here on a golf getaway and enjoyed every minute. The setting is beautiful, the rooms were large, comfortable and quiet and the service was friendly and efficient. My wife and I used the spa for a massage and it was very relaxing. The golf course looks tougher than it really was. My advice would be listen to your caddy! The greens were quick and difficult to read. Great couples getaway!!

Room Tip: We spent our time in a bungalow. Quiet with a great view. Only down side was the up hill walk from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a very good place to be! Everything is just soooo good! Very nice people working her and they really take care of you in a most kind way without that you get the feeling of "..maybe to much". The Spa is excellent and talking about actvities the Golf Course is first class. CordeValle is a place to spend a couple of days just enjoying life, grasping the moment. The onlz negative is that once you been here you get hooked but I can live with that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This may be the nicest hotel/resort I have ever stayed in. Heck, let's just say it. This IS the nicest hotel I have ever been lucky enough to enjoy.

The setting is absolutely fabulous. The grounds, the golf course, the spa -- everything is top-notch. Absolutely fabulous. As I said, if money is no object...and especially if you are traveling with man's best friend, as we always do. This resort is dog-friendly to the max -- our Golden Retriever Jasper could not have been happier. The staff treated him as if he were an honored guest (which of course he was).

I could go on and on. The hotel is great. The staff super-friendly and professional. The spa is great, and the grounds are perfect.

The only "but" is the price. The rooms are extremely expensive unless you can get in on some sort of deal. The restaurant and bar are excellent (get the mushroom pizza!). But a margarita will set you back almost $20 after tax and tip. It was really good, of course, but $20 for a pretty small margarita?

The hotel/resort obviously caters to the well-heeled. But they don't make you feel less than worthy if you are watching your budget.

Go for a special event -- that's what we did. I will be shocked if you don't love CoredeValle. But be prepared to burn some serious cash.

Will we be back? You bet. It's a special place. But for people like us, we have to pick our spots -- and our specials. The price point is pretty darn high for the rooms and the restaurant.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Don't sweat it. Only about 45 rooms and they all are great, i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I have been to Corde Valle on two occasions. On our most recent trip, we decided to bring our dog. As we experienced during our first stay, the service was SUPERB. We were greeted warmly, and the staff welcomed us back (I am certain it's in their computer system or something). When we arrived at our room, there was a welcome note not only for us, but for the dog as well! We were escorted by cart to a nearby vineyard, and picked up when we were ready to return to our room. Any and all of our needs were met at all times, including the dog's. They even had a dog friendly menu! My husband enjoyed a relaxing round of golf, while I took a long walk around the grounds, enjoyed the gym and views. They have two lovely hikes where one can spot deer and other wildlife. The spa amenities were fabulous, and both dinners were out of this world. And, as I mentioned above, the Vineyard, Clos de Chance is minutes away. Attentive, sincere and friendly service at all times. We cannot wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a week here during our recent Vancouver/California trip, staying in one of the bungalows overlooking the golf course. We agreed that this was the best resort out of those we stayed in on our trip. The property is beautifully situated beside the Santa Cruz mountains with fabulous views and wildlife all around. The main building is very pretty and the bungalows are great. We loved the fact you could make your own coffee and toast (nespresso machine and toaster provided, but no cutlery - we found this odd and had to buy plastic cutlery nearby) in the morning rather than have to get dressed and walk to the main building for breakfast.
The bathrooms and the main bedroom/sitting room are huge - plenty of space - and well decorated/very luxurious.
The pool area is great (bit too much towel changing as soon as you stood up though!) as is the gym - everything you need. Service from the guys on the door/valets was first class - they remembered your names, all the key facts and went out of their way to be helpful. We did think the resort suffered from the absence of a concierge though - the front desk handled enquiries which was fine, but an on-site concierge would have been better. Where we have to score Cordevalle down was on the food and beverage side - breakfast on our first morning was a disaster. We were ignored by the waiting staff, had to find menus on our own and when our order was eventually delivered 45 minutes after we entered the restaurant, it was completely wrong! As a result, we never ate breakfast there again. Our experience at dinner was also mixed - we ate in the One Iron Bar 3 times - twice was great and one was extremely poor. 45 minute wait again and when one meal was served, it was burned and cold. Had to be returned. The resort handled the issues well but really, it needs to up its game here as we felt it was inconsistent in terms of waiter service and food quality.
Overall, this is a fabulous resort and we would recommend it to anyone staying in the area - we will definitely return and hope they have ironed out the food/service issues by then.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Address: 1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of California's Santa Cruz Mountains, CordeValle is a luxury retreat in an extraordinary setting between San Jose and the Monterey Peninsula. The resort is infused with country club charm and superb amenities including a luxury spa and 7,169-yard championship golf course by legendary designer Robert Trent Jones, Jr. Clos La Chance, the on-site winery and vineyard, offers guests the opportunity to experience California's famed wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordevalle, a Rosewood Hotel San Martin
Cordevalle a Rosewood Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.