We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You will come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a very good place to be! Everything is just soooo good! Very nice people working her and they really take care of you in a most kind way without that you get the feeling of "..maybe to much". The Spa is excellent and talking about actvities the Golf Course is first class. CordeValle is a place to spend a couple of days just enjoying life, grasping the moment. The onlz negative is that once you been here you get hooked but I can live with that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
83
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This may be the nicest hotel/resort I have ever stayed in. Heck, let's just say it. This IS the nicest hotel I have ever been lucky enough to enjoy.

The setting is absolutely fabulous. The grounds, the golf course, the spa -- everything is top-notch. Absolutely fabulous. As I said, if money is no object...and especially if you are traveling with man's best friend, as we always do. This resort is dog-friendly to the max -- our Golden Retriever Jasper could not have been happier. The staff treated him as if he were an honored guest (which of course he was).

I could go on and on. The hotel is great. The staff super-friendly and professional. The spa is great, and the grounds are perfect.

The only "but" is the price. The rooms are extremely expensive unless you can get in on some sort of deal. The restaurant and bar are excellent (get the mushroom pizza!). But a margarita will set you back almost $20 after tax and tip. It was really good, of course, but $20 for a pretty small margarita?

The hotel/resort obviously caters to the well-heeled. But they don't make you feel less than worthy if you are watching your budget.

Go for a special event -- that's what we did. I will be shocked if you don't love CoredeValle. But be prepared to burn some serious cash.

Will we be back? You bet. It's a special place. But for people like us, we have to pick our spots -- and our specials. The price point is pretty darn high for the rooms and the restaurant.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Don't sweat it. Only about 45 rooms and they all are great, i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I have been to Corde Valle on two occasions. On our most recent trip, we decided to bring our dog. As we experienced during our first stay, the service was SUPERB. We were greeted warmly, and the staff welcomed us back (I am certain it's in their computer system or something). When we arrived at our room, there was a welcome note not only for us, but for the dog as well! We were escorted by cart to a nearby vineyard, and picked up when we were ready to return to our room. Any and all of our needs were met at all times, including the dog's. They even had a dog friendly menu! My husband enjoyed a relaxing round of golf, while I took a long walk around the grounds, enjoyed the gym and views. They have two lovely hikes where one can spot deer and other wildlife. The spa amenities were fabulous, and both dinners were out of this world. And, as I mentioned above, the Vineyard, Clos de Chance is minutes away. Attentive, sincere and friendly service at all times. We cannot wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a week here during our recent Vancouver/California trip, staying in one of the bungalows overlooking the golf course. We agreed that this was the best resort out of those we stayed in on our trip. The property is beautifully situated beside the Santa Cruz mountains with fabulous views and wildlife all around. The main building is very pretty and the bungalows are great. We loved the fact you could make your own coffee and toast (nespresso machine and toaster provided, but no cutlery - we found this odd and had to buy plastic cutlery nearby) in the morning rather than have to get dressed and walk to the main building for breakfast.
The bathrooms and the main bedroom/sitting room are huge - plenty of space - and well decorated/very luxurious.
The pool area is great (bit too much towel changing as soon as you stood up though!) as is the gym - everything you need. Service from the guys on the door/valets was first class - they remembered your names, all the key facts and went out of their way to be helpful. We did think the resort suffered from the absence of a concierge though - the front desk handled enquiries which was fine, but an on-site concierge would have been better. Where we have to score Cordevalle down was on the food and beverage side - breakfast on our first morning was a disaster. We were ignored by the waiting staff, had to find menus on our own and when our order was eventually delivered 45 minutes after we entered the restaurant, it was completely wrong! As a result, we never ate breakfast there again. Our experience at dinner was also mixed - we ate in the One Iron Bar 3 times - twice was great and one was extremely poor. 45 minute wait again and when one meal was served, it was burned and cold. Had to be returned. The resort handled the issues well but really, it needs to up its game here as we felt it was inconsistent in terms of waiter service and food quality.
Overall, this is a fabulous resort and we would recommend it to anyone staying in the area - we will definitely return and hope they have ironed out the food/service issues by then.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Cordevalle and would definitely return. Only encountered a few minor service issues not really worth mentioning, but to be a true luxury 5 star resort a few things could be improved:

- Housekeeping was inconsistent. After an 18 round hole of golf, our room still had not been serviced. Sometimes housekeeping would forget a towel or two here or there as well.

- Kitchen staff should be more aware of food allergies. We ordered gluten free pasta and it also came out with flour based garlic bread. Ordered gluten breakfast with gluten free toast, yet the eggs came out with a tomato with what looked like bread crumbles on it. I wasn't 100% certain my food items were gluten free since the kitchen staff kept some items gluten free yet also included flour based garnishes/items.

-After the first night, we wanted to stop our morning newspaper service and informed the front desk. Yet, we continued to receive a newspaper on nights 2 and 3.

-A toddler and a small child screaming in the spa & shower area along with their pool toys in the whirlpool. One spa attendant walked in and out a few times but did not say anything to this guest. Definitely ruined my spa experience after a wonderful massage. So, I went back to the room to use the in room jetted tub which was a much better experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really can't say enough good things about this place. We were pampered at every turn. All services and staff were insanely courteous, attentive and efficient. We called the front desk a few times needing something and they were at our door within 5 minutes. One time we called and they mentioned (apologetically) that it was very busy and that it might take "a few minutes". They were still there within 5 minutes. It was insane.

I played golf twice.Absolutely beautiful course. Caddy is required but mine was incerdible and worth the cost $75 if you're taking a cart (also mandatory after 8am) and $105 if walking (only possible before 8am). The course was beautiful to walk and if you're going to play I would recommend that you try it. Excellent pace of play, I played as a twosome and as a single and on neither occassion really had to wait. rounds played in 3.5 - 4hrs. Perfect.

Food was amazing. Staff were amazing. The winery was an incredible place to visit as well.

If you're thinking about going, you should!!

Room Tip: Only 45 rooms total, they're all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Inviting 6 couples to one of our favorite places- anywhere ! From the time we arrived on Thursday to our departure on Sunday, everyone raved about how friendly the bell men,front desk,golf shop,Restaurant, bar, and Spa staff were. One night we had a private S'mores party around an outdoor fire pit . All the facilities are very well maintained. Rooms were big and luxurious. Big bathrooms. Fireplaces in room. Our group went next door to the winery Clos LaChnce and brought back wine to party on our room's patio facing the 9th hole fairway and beyond. Beautiful sunsets too! Group already talking about return next year too!

Room Tip: Bungalows # 20-27 on the lower ridge have great views from the outdoor patios. Be sure to book the U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Address: 1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of California's Santa Cruz Mountains, CordeValle is a luxury retreat in an extraordinary setting between San Jose and the Monterey Peninsula. The resort is infused with country club charm and superb amenities including a luxury spa and 7,169-yard championship golf course by legendary designer Robert Trent Jones, Jr. Clos La Chance, the on-site winery and vineyard, offers guests the opportunity to experience California's famed wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordevalle, a Rosewood Hotel San Martin
Cordevalle a Rosewood Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.