We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Cordevalle and would definitely return. Only encountered a few minor service issues not really worth mentioning, but to be a true luxury 5 star resort a few things could be improved:

- Housekeeping was inconsistent. After an 18 round hole of golf, our room still had not been serviced. Sometimes housekeeping would forget a towel or two here or there as well.

- Kitchen staff should be more aware of food allergies. We ordered gluten free pasta and it also came out with flour based garlic bread. Ordered gluten breakfast with gluten free toast, yet the eggs came out with a tomato with what looked like bread crumbles on it. I wasn't 100% certain my food items were gluten free since the kitchen staff kept some items gluten free yet also included flour based garnishes/items.

-After the first night, we wanted to stop our morning newspaper service and informed the front desk. Yet, we continued to receive a newspaper on nights 2 and 3.

-A toddler and a small child screaming in the spa & shower area along with their pool toys in the whirlpool. One spa attendant walked in and out a few times but did not say anything to this guest. Definitely ruined my spa experience after a wonderful massage. So, I went back to the room to use the in room jetted tub which was a much better experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
77
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really can't say enough good things about this place. We were pampered at every turn. All services and staff were insanely courteous, attentive and efficient. We called the front desk a few times needing something and they were at our door within 5 minutes. One time we called and they mentioned (apologetically) that it was very busy and that it might take "a few minutes". They were still there within 5 minutes. It was insane.

I played golf twice.Absolutely beautiful course. Caddy is required but mine was incerdible and worth the cost $75 if you're taking a cart (also mandatory after 8am) and $105 if walking (only possible before 8am). The course was beautiful to walk and if you're going to play I would recommend that you try it. Excellent pace of play, I played as a twosome and as a single and on neither occassion really had to wait. rounds played in 3.5 - 4hrs. Perfect.

Food was amazing. Staff were amazing. The winery was an incredible place to visit as well.

If you're thinking about going, you should!!

Room Tip: Only 45 rooms total, they're all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Inviting 6 couples to one of our favorite places- anywhere ! From the time we arrived on Thursday to our departure on Sunday, everyone raved about how friendly the bell men,front desk,golf shop,Restaurant, bar, and Spa staff were. One night we had a private S'mores party around an outdoor fire pit . All the facilities are very well maintained. Rooms were big and luxurious. Big bathrooms. Fireplaces in room. Our group went next door to the winery Clos LaChnce and brought back wine to party on our room's patio facing the 9th hole fairway and beyond. Beautiful sunsets too! Group already talking about return next year too!

Room Tip: Bungalows # 20-27 on the lower ridge have great views from the outdoor patios. Be sure to book the U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived at CordeValle we knew we were in for a nice weekend. All of the staff we encountered (from the front desk, to the pool staff, to housekeeping) were top notch and always made sure that everything was suiting our needs.

CordeValle is the type of place where you can just kick your shoes off at the door and relax. The rooms are really large and feel like a luxurious home. They are very private and even include a private sundeck/balcony. The enormous bathtubs are a real treat as well.

Be warned - in the middle of summer it can get extremely warm - over 100 degrees so need to stay near the pool. The food at One Iron Horse was absolutely delicious too.

I would highly recommend this resort for a special occasion. Only minor comment is that the pool staff were almost too attentive. Every staff member by the pool would come by every few minutes and ask if we needed anything - felt like saying that we would let them know if we did, otherwise assume we are ok.

Room Tip: Can get very very hot in the middle of summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wonderful rooms, great service, and excellent food combined with a fabulous golf centered resort make this an ideal location for executive retreats, etc. The facilities (golf course, pool, gym, etc.) are first rate. Other than the somewhat steep price (albeit with commensurate value), the only minor nit is too few channels available on the very large screened cardio equipment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stunning views from throughout the resort combined with excellent service makes this a must stay resort. I hosted a meeting for 14 people and everything went as planned. The feedback from my guest were also outstanding. Nice job CordeValle staff!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Visited for a group meeting in early June. Everything was top of the line; probably one of the best places that I've ever stayed.

Incredible setting, gorgeous spacious room, high-quality service, superb food.

Just wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Address: 1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of California's Santa Cruz Mountains, CordeValle is a luxury retreat in an extraordinary setting between San Jose and the Monterey Peninsula. The resort is infused with country club charm and superb amenities including a luxury spa and 7,169-yard championship golf course by legendary designer Robert Trent Jones, Jr. Clos La Chance, the on-site winery and vineyard, offers guests the opportunity to experience California's famed wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordevalle, a Rosewood Hotel San Martin
Cordevalle a Rosewood Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.