We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Save Saved
You added CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in San Martin
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

While this is really a golf resort, and only one of us plays, we both really enjoyed our 3 day stay. The service and attentiveness were among the best we've ever experienced. (It really does make a difference when they greet you by name as you walk around the place.) The golf was outstanding (the golf staff was friendly and helpful), but even the non-golfer appreciated the beauty of the course vistas, the wonderful hikes, the heated pool, and the spa. The food was excellent, and the rooms were large, comfortable, beautifully furnished, and well equipped. Best of all, the rates were very reasonable for a resort of this level.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
73
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just spent 3 days at this lovely resort. Agree with others that the bungalows are large, with gas log fireplace, patio that overlooks the golf course, big flat screen TV and jetted tub in bathroom. They had nice robes and slippers for you in the closet. A Keurig coffee maker for the mornings, and they left you a bottle of water at turn down. Bed was very comfortable, but I really wish the high end hotel/resorts would get away from those heavy comforters. They are so hot we had to set the temp to 65 at night and leave the fan on.
Regarding food, they have 2 restaurants. We went to their Italian restaurant on our first night. Although the food was very good, the menu was quite disappointing. There were very few choices, and even fewer Italian entrees on it. I expected to see some traditional pasta dishes like veal or chicken parmigiana, bolognese sauce, pasta with meatballs or sausage, etc. There was one pasta dish that sounded great - - fettucine with crab in a spicy sauce. I asked if I could get it without the "spicy" and they said yes - no problem. I ordered it and had to trade meals with my husband. Even he, who likes spicy, said his mouth was on fire. I had the veal chop, which was excellent. They were very apologetic.
The other restaurant is a bar with about a dozen tables. The food, again, was quite good, but the prices are outrageous. For a full breakfast (eggs, toast, bacon, potatoes, coffee) it was $31.00. Since there are no other restaurants within 10 miles, you pretty much have to eat there. Everything was a la carte.
At dinner, the Italian restaurant was closed for 4 days, so we had to eat in the bar. It was very disheartening to eat at these small bar tables that really were made for just a drink and snack, while 2 TV's are on ESPN. We had dinner while watching fights at a hockey game. Do they really need the TVs on at dinner? The restaurant staff were wonderful.
We both had spa treatments that were exceptional.
We also played golf one day. You have to have a caddie. There were so many bunkers on this course, it was nice to have help, since my ball seems drawn to the bunkers. Gorgeous, well kept course. Pricey, but we were on the ultimate 3 day package, so 2 rds. of golf were included.
As much as we loved our room, the spa and the golf, not sure if we would return because of having to go to the very small, limited menu, high priced restaurants. Think we would go somewhere else for the same price with more options.
That said, it was a wonderful resort that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the lower level are private with great golf course views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent a long weekend and Cordevalle and not being golfers, were a little worried about getting bored. However, Benji, the tennis pro basically created a tennis camp for my husband and I during our three day stay and we had the best time. He is a wonderful instructor who will improve your game dramatically and also make sure you have fun doing it. I highly recommend taking a lesson at Cordevalle if you have time.

The food at the resort was also amazing. Everything we ate during our stay was top quality and delicious!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in Bungalow 14. The room was absolutely gorgeous and HUGE. The bathroom alone was bigger than hotel rooms I've stayed in and I am not exaggerating. While Rosewood is known for service and attention to detail, we had a few issues. The fireplace was not working nor was the tv. The tv was fixed by replacing the cable box, but they were not able to fix the fireplace. They did send a maintenance man two days in a row to try to get it working, but we only got about 4 hours of use before it shut off again (gas fireplace). Other than the amenities in our room being "off", we had a great stay.
A bit about "Things to Do"--The hiking trail is nicely maintained and not for the casual hiker. There are some pretty steep inclines. My husband enjoyed the golf course and played 2 rounds of golf. He loved having a caddie and felt that it improved his experience. I checked out the spa and had a massage. They have excellent spa facilities. The massage was really relaxing and the showers and locker room were fully stocked with everything that you could possibly need. They even called in a therapist a bit earlier to fit my schedule. I've never seen a cleaner resort and we've stayed at a lot of top notch resorts. If you like birds, you will love this place. Magpies, red tail hawks and snowy egrets are everywhere. The air is full of birdsong and there are many trees full of numerous and varied birds. The resort provides each room with binoculars and I spent an enjoyable morning watching the birds.
Our dog enjoyed the resort, too. They provided a doggie bed, bowls, and dog walking service. We did not use the walking service, but it was nice that it was available. It was a beautiful weekend and our dog was able to join us for most meals as we ate outside. She got a lot of attention and was truly welcome everywhere that she went. This place is super dog friendly!
Overall, the stay was great. I wish that the fireplace had been working because the nights were pretty cold and I wanted to snuggle up next to my honey in front of the fireplace. (We still snuggled, but it would have been a bit more romantic with the mood a fireplace provides!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corral de Tierra, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by all the attention to detail. Wonderful setting, rooms,food and spa offerings exceeded our expectations. Our travel adventures are extensive and we could not believe how well trained all the staff was and the longivitity of their service. It speaks highly for the property management. The food was a dining experience. The golf course is beautiful and the caddie was a great addition for an unfamiliar player. Kudo's on this great place. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: There is a variety of options for families or couples. Everything is private, a visual delight. Quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

stayed in one of the 'standard' rooms - will forever ruin me for any hotel, any where, and the staff couldn't be better. everything from the room, fireplace, linens, amenities, etc - absolutely the finest. was there on a business trip - and we had buffet meals both days - and i have to say the short ribs on a buffet were the some of the very best i've ever had, any where, at any restaurant. bar was good, however, it was the only smudge in the service - the bartenders were very young and didn't know how to make the classic drinks that are coming back in style - manhattans, old fashions, etc...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed at Cordevalle for a week mid-September as part of a golfing trip. It really was a wonderful experience from start to finish. As the other reviews have mentioned, the spectacular setting, the beautiful accomodation, the friendly staff, and the excellent facilities all go to make your time at Cordevalle a truly memorable one. Whilst the main attraction is undoubtedly the golf, the nearby shopping outlet at Gilroy(10mins away) and the boutique shopping on Santana Row in San Jose(30mins away) also proved very attractive! If you enjoy wine, then there are some great local vineyards well worth a visit. Would definately recommend a stay at Cordevalle time and time again whether it's to enjoy the golf, have a romantic getaway or to just relax and unwind in its beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort

Address: 1 CordeValle Club Dr., San Martin, CA 95046 (Formerly Lodge at CordeValle)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in San Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of California's Santa Cruz Mountains, CordeValle is a luxury retreat in an extraordinary setting between San Jose and the Monterey Peninsula. The resort is infused with country club charm and superb amenities including a luxury spa and 7,169-yard championship golf course by legendary designer Robert Trent Jones, Jr. Clos La Chance, the on-site winery and vineyard, offers guests the opportunity to experience California's famed wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordevalle, a Rosewood Hotel San Martin
Cordevalle a Rosewood Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CordeValle, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.