We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Every Day Eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slater's 50/50

Slater's 50/50
110 Knoll Rd, San Marcos, CA 92069
+1 760-759-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 209 Restaurants in San Marcos
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Slater's 50/50(R) was founded in 2009 in Anaheim Hills, California by Scott Slater, a San Diego State graduate with a passion for gourmet comfort food and craft beer. Teaming up with Executive Chef Brad Lyons, they created the world's first 50/50 burger - 50 percent ground bacon and 50 percent ground beef - taking the Southern California restaurant scene by storm. In 2011, the second Slater's 50/50 opened in Huntington Beach followed quickly by the San Diego location. Since opening, Slater's 50/50 has won a number of awards and accolades including "Best Burger" by The Orange County Register, OC Weekly and FOX 5 San Diego as well as Best New Restaurant by San Diego Magazine. Slater's 50/50 has also been featured on national television shows including the Travel Channel's Bacon Paradise and Discovery Channel's United States of Bacon.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Your Every Day Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Reservations not accepted. Arrived 5:45pm Saturday wait time 20 minutes. Unique concept with focus on bacon as well as never thought of burger combinations.
Attentive server with friendly explanation of make it your own ordering.
Kitchen staff fell well behind and could not keep with the number of orders being placed. Thirty-five minutes passed before we received our order except for the onion rings which arrived promptly.
Onion rings delicious although a bit greasy.
Basic wedge of lettuce with blue cheese, tomato and bacon. Would of prefer the bacon warm and crisp instead of cold and chewy.
Beef and turkey burgers delicious -- moist and more than adequate.
Numerous, excellent selection of beers and minimal average selection of wines.
$$ to$$$

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oh my”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service. Beer is fresh, cheese fries are unbelievable. 1st time had a 50/50 burger, little dense but flavor is awesome, 2nd time had beef and oh my, freak'n awesome. All staff is very attentive and friendly.
We'll back for sure

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BACON BACON BACON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My family and friends traveling with us ate dinner here while on vacation. I had heard all about the Slater 5050 burger recipe which consists of cornfed beef with no BHT or hormones of any type mixed with bacon. They also had a carne asada hot which is carne asada beef mixed with jalapenos to give it heat. The adults all choose the 50/50. We decided to build our own burgers rather than order off the menu. We started our meal with deep fried pickles, deep fried jalapenos, fries, and their special Mac& cheese balls. My burger was the intermediate 2/3 lb size 50/50 then added thick cut bacon, smoked gouda cheese, red onion, tomato, garlic aoli, pickle spear, and a couple of other toppings. My wife and friends did their own as well. My burger, the Bigo STFU GTFO Burger was huge and I ate most of it. Very baconny. Very messy. Very delicious. The children had kids meals with a tasty variety as well. The waitress was professional and patient. She explained all of their craft beers to us. Our bill was a little high but I expected it. Slaters 50/50 definitely delivers on their upscale burger promise. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, the food, and left satisfied. When I return, we will absolutely make a trip to Sayers 50/50. Check out the picture of my burger!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brownies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not a real big brownie fan but the blonde brownies have turned me. Bought both for a friend, tried both and I loved the Blonde. Little pricey but for a splurge, go for it!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, kinda pricy, so you get what you pay for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Total bill for 4, including tip was 90 bucks. Kinda a lot for a beer, two milkshakes, a salad, burger, chicken and pastrami sandwich, oh, and an order of Bacon Poutine. Everything is a la carte. Servers are very attentive...is it possible to be too attentive? Maybe so. Portion sizes are generous, and all of our food was great. The beet brussel salad with grilled chicken (yes, the chicken costs more) was outstanding.

Go and enjoy, but expect to spend more. We will go back again, and I do not hesitate to recommend Slater's 50/50.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slater's 50/50 also viewed

 

Been to Slater's 50/50? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slater's 50/50, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.