We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lakehouse Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1025 La Bonita Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Franklin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently stayed at this resort for a national dog show event AND we got married on the patio at our cottage facing the lake. Everything was very nice but at this time there is no restaurant. One sort of silly thing..or cottage had a full size refrigerator, a Keurig but no microwave and for that price it should have.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakehouse_Hotelier, Guest Relations Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Beau1Wi, Thank you for choosing the Lakehouse Hotel and Resort for your special day! We're thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the great atmosphere the cottages provide on the lake to create a very memorable and unique wedding. I do apologize for any mis-communication about what amenities our rooms provide; however, our full-service restaurant provides rooms service 24 hours a day and is always happy to prepare delicious meals for your family. We hope to see the two of you again for another legendary experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    48
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
74
94
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We pulled up to Lakehouse Resort and immediately noticed the immaculate upkeep of the building itself, kind of a freshly painted white and blue nautical look. Our second floor room was sleekly decorated in calming sea-mist colors and the bedding was crisp white with no shortage of fluffy pillows. After enjoying the peaceful outdoor jacuzzi and s'mores by one of the fires, efficient 24-hour room service with delicious food came at a perfect time. Later, I discovered the Lather brand bath amenities and could not stop inhaling the heavenly aromatherapy. Also, what a beautiful shower area, plus a little wetbar with fridge separated from the bathroom! We did not stay long enough to experience lake activities, but certainly will make a point of working it into our next Lakehouse stay.

Room Tip: Our only disappointment was ending up with a parking lot view while others raved about their scenic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakehouse_Hotelier, Guest Relations Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
K2A2, Thank you for choosing the Lakehouse Hotel and Resort for you getaway to Southern California. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our newly-renovated rooms and relaxing atmosphere we strive to provide each of our guests with. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't get to experience your stay in a room facing the serene Lakefront; however, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next getaway, where we hope you have the time to fully enjoy all of our activities the lake has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My experience at the Lakehouse was wonderful.

SERVICE: The staff was extrememly accomodating and the grounds are beautiful and well kept. The room is completely updated with modern decor and a beautiful spa shower. There is no tub though.

ROOM: Get a lakeview room for best value, the view is spectacular and there is a fountain that runs all day and glows different colors at night. The are only two floors and the bottom floor does not have private balconies. That wasnt really a problem for us but you will sometimes get people walking right in front of you while you are chillin in your robe.

BEDS: Really comfortable but extremely firm. It's tempurpedic and molds a bit to your body but again, very firm. You cant plop on it. We slept like babies though.

LAKEVIEW CON (though not really a con, its still beautiful): Also there are these really determined little mosquitos that will fly in your room if you leave the door open longer than a second. Seriously, no exaggeration. You cannot leave the patio door or screen open. They will find a way in. There were a few smashed ones on the ceiling when we arrived and we added to the collection. LOL. Its an easy fix though if you bring bug spray to spray on the screen but no way can you leave the door & screen open. I must say I did not get bitten so thats a plus.

DINING: The restaurant which is on a country club in walking distance, is subperb! Our dinner was so tasty and the outdoor eating space is lovely at night. There is no dresscode for the restaurant and you can order to your room like room service.

WATER RENTALS: The rentals are very reasonable. There are no more paddle boats as advertised on the site but the mini motor boats were only $40. water bikes $25 (per person) and Kayaks $25.

I went for a couples weekend but it's very family friendly. They have a free smore making night on Saturdays that I saw families enjoying. The pool had grills too so you can get your BBQ on!

I will definitely return. Best value, cute and cozy!

Room Tip: LAKEVIEW! Its so serene, But bring bug spray. 1st floor doesnt have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tati M, Guest Service Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Sunny G, Thank you for choosing Lakehouse Hotel and Resort during your getaway from Los Angeles. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the tranquility and legendary guest experience we are so honored to provide here on Lake San Marcos. The mosquitos by the lake are actually midges, I assure you they are harmless. The grill by the pool deck will be available very soon. Our guests will be able to order off the pool bar menu and enjoy cocktails while soaking up some sun. As a resort we aspire to provide excellence and anything short of such will never be acceptable. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Most of the other reviewers have pretty much nailed it with their reviews of the Lakehouse. I stayed here for five nights in October 2013. The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable. I like the balconies with the tall wooden chairs that overlook the lake. I enjoyed drinking coffee each morning while watching the ducks, geese, and swans playing below me in the water. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is very charming and is in a cozy setting. The Keurig coffee maker was a nice perk. I also enjoyed having lots of channels on the TV; being a sports fan, I loved having the NFL Network, MLB TV, the NHL Channel, and NBA TV. In fact, I believe DirectTV is the television service provider.

The location of the hotel is convenient to the major freeways in this part of San Diego County and I never had any trouble with traffic congestion while I was traveling about within San Marcos.

If (and when) I'm back in the San Diego area, I'm staying at Lakehouse again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tati M, Guest Service Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
AlabamaTraveler17, Thank you for the 5-star ratings! We are delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy our amenities during your experience here at the Lakehouse. We hope to see you soon on your next getaway from Alabama. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magalia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Last time we visited San Marcos we stayed in a nice hotel near the freeway. This time, I searched for a place away from freeway noise, and was very pleased to stay at Lakehouse. It is a very short drive from the freeway, but worlds apart in the peaceful atmosphere, and due to a special price we were lucky enough to secure, about the same price as staying at the chain hotel beside the freeway. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff responsive to our requests. I have two small suggestions..... The only chair in our room was the pub-height stool at the desk/coffee bar. It would have been nice to have another comfortable chair for reading and watching TV. Also, the vanity top in the bathroom has very little room for our toiletry bags, etc, and it would be nice if it had a shelf across the bottom where we could put our personal things. I laughingly told my husband that a man must have designed the room, because there is very little space in drawers or in the bathroom to put the personal items that women like to take when they travel.

Even though it was January, we were able to sit in the high chairs on the balcony in the morning sun, drinking our coffee in the nice robes that the hotel provides, while viewing portions of the lake and the hills beyond, and watching the people down by the pool who were enjoying their morning too. Very peaceful, and a welcome interlude in an otherwise busy trip. We will be staying at Lakehouse again on future trips, especially if the room rates continue to be so nicely competitive with the chain hotels along the freeway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tati M, Guest Service Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
janjustshootme, Thank you for your review! Our commitment to our guests is to provide a memorable escape on the lake at great rate which is apparent in our pricing in comparison to the other upscale properties in the North San Diego market. We are elated you enjoyed that morning coffee while overlooking Lake San Marcos - it sure is gorgeous! Lastly, thank you for your suggestions! We hope next time we have the pleasure of having you with us, we will achieve that last circle under the room rating. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel has an incredibly welcoming staff, wonderful rooms, and amenities and facilities galore. The only bad thing I can say about it is we had to check out eventually. We stayed here before when it was the Quail's Inn and loved it then as well. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. On one of our visits we have had a birthday party our daughter and we all stayed a few days with her friends. The first morning we went to the restaurant they use for the room service and took out eggs benedict and rented one of the boats they have. The kids and frankly we loved it. At all times the staff was friendly and attentive. They went above and beyond for us. While I believe they are under new management, the Lakehouse continues a tradition of excellence.

Room Tip: I like the poolside lounge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tati M, Guest Service Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
SDLightpainter, What an honor to have you with us as a return guest! It is always an absolute pleasure to welcome back previous guests to our brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort. Our promise is to provide personable guest service and to create lifelong memories. We hope to have you and your daughter with us again soon! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Gardens, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

First visit, my spouse and i stayed for the weekend and loved it, beautiful property, amazing rooms, multiple pool's and Jacuzzi' and cozy fire pits, can we ask for more? at check in we were served Champagne! didn't expect that, it was fantastic. The rooms were perfect, from the Comfy bed to the view of the Lake, to the awesome Bathroom, simply gorgeous.

We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Best view is top floor lake side, stay up late to get to see some stars reflect off the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tati M, Guest Service Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Danny M, Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you selected Lakehouse Hotel and Resort for that special romantic escape! Our goal is to provide our guests a serene experience with our new amenities, breathtaking views, and excellent guest service. We will see you on your next getaway from Bell Gardens and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakehouse Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Address: 1025 La Bonita Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakehouse Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort is proud to offer affordable luxury in an unbeatable setting on beautiful Lake San Marcos matched with a guest service experience second to none. A refreshing deviation from the cookie cutter mundane resort norm, Lakehouse Hotel and Resort creates a tranquil escape from life's daily stresses via the irreplaceable serenity of lakefront luxury and service excellence.Lakehouse Hotel and Resort offers 142 brand new spacious rooms inclusive of breathtaking views, spa like showers, amazingly comfortable memory foam beds, over 100 channels of high definition television with premium movie channels, complimentary wireless internet, a magnificent lobby area with a fireplace, library, board games, 2 tremendously spacious pool decks and hot tubs, hammocks, fire pits throughout the spacious property, 24 hour in room dining, and many more legendary amenities. Guests of the resort are encouraged to enjoy our country club, St. Mark Golf, which offers a state of the art fitness center, driving range, 18 holes of championship golf and 18 holes of executive golf. The Grill restaurant offers fine dining for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy the delicious full menu to be delivered as room service as well. While guests have all the amenities available to them to ensure they never have to leave our resort, the staff of passionate hoteliers matches our unbeatable location with a level of passionate service that will help to create lifelong memories. We take great pride in providing you with a luxurious escape second to none. On behalf of our entire team here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort we eagerly await your arrival. Escape From The Everyday.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lakehouse Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.