We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lakehouse Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1025 La Bonita Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Classy and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

From the time we arrived, until we reached home, we continued to talk about Lakehouse and how cozy and friendly the overall experience was; describing it with an ambience of unassuming classiness from the look and feel of the rooms, the pleasantries of staff and the comfort and enjoyment of the restaurant, The Grill. Lakehouse is an experience I must repeat, hopefully for pleasure on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Ray Y,

As our Hotel Manager your review brings a smile to my face and is greatly appreciated! As a collective team of passionate hoteliers we aim to provide an unpretentious guest experience centered upon genuinely personable interactions that provides a refreshing escape from the mundane resort norm many have come to accept in today’s hospitality. We simply want our valued guest’s time here to be a tranquil escape from any outside stresses and take great pride in the honor of providing this haven of relaxation here on the lake. I am delighted we made a lasting impression and that we met the rigorously high standards we demand from ourselves.

On behalf of our entire team we look forward to the honor of having you back with us in what we hope is the near future the next time you visit from Bakersfield!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    35
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
75
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I am in love with this hidden gem!!!
I wish I could put a poor rating so that I can keep people away :)
But I am so in love, I am defiantly coming back.
Everyone was so nice and helpful.
Wine,beer,crackers,& cheese upon arriving :)
Coffee in lobby early mornings :)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Vannessa G,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort. Rest assured our commitment to providing a legendarily personable guest experience at an economical value will never be compromised at our Four Star Resort. Our entire team of passionate hoteliers eagerly awaits your return from Los Angeles!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed on the lake. Great room- beds super comfy! Very clean! Highly recommend. Staff very nice. I stayed on a Friday and Saturday- so took advantage of manager's reception and s'mores! Took kids paddle boating and played volleyball! The jacuzzi was great!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Marimaricela,

On behalf of our entire team of passionate hoteliers here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort we thank you for your review. Our numerous lake toys as well as our complimentary Managers Reception every Friday evening and S’mores night Saturday evenings have been a hit and will be here to stay. We look forward to your return at which point we hope to be able to earn that fifth circle!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Loved every detail....the lobby, the friendly staff, the tile work, soft towels, even the Keurig coffee maker. But the best part was the Tempurpedic mattress (memory foam)...best sleep ever. If fact, we're now in the market for one! No breakfast, however. What a difference a year makes: this used to be a rundown resort called The Quails Inn, but it's been totally redone. Very slick!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
KarinPleasantHill_CA,

Thank you for choosing the brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort during your travels from Santa Rosa! We have loved seeing guests from years past react as they see the transformation into the Four Star property we proudly are today. The combination of our beautiful new resort on Lake San Marcos accompanied with our talented team of hoteliers providing a guest experience centered upon genuinely personable interactions creates a truly refreshing deviation from the cookie cutter norm.

We thank you for your review and look forward to the next time we have the honor of having you here as our valued guest here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I choose only to stay at the Lakehouse Hotel when in San Diego. We recommend it to all our friends and family. The room is nicely decorated, comfortable and has everything you need. The view of the lake from many of the rooms is beautiful and the pool was great and the firepit at night is awesome. The best though is taking one of the pontoon boats our on the lake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Kathryn G,

Word of mouth from our valued guests is essential to our success here at our brand new Four Star resort and is immensely appreciated. We thank you for spreading the word about the Lakehouse experience and are honored to be your choice hotel in San Diego. Our commitment to providing a legendarily personable guest experience will always await and we look forward to your return!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We are local in San Diego. We went to Lakehouse for a Saturday stay. It was a really nice stay overall. New room overlooking the parking lot (or Groupon view). Not that bad because the neighborhood is really quiet, and no noise from the pool for us. Got 1 hour free peddle boat rental. The boat can sit 2 adults + 2 kids and only the adult seats have peddles. The water toy price is really reasonable compared to the Mission Bay Hotels ($15/hr for peddle boats and $10/hr for kayaks). The pools are great. The kid pool was heated, BIG BIG PLUS for winter time. One of the two jacuzzi's was closed - the other one was functional and great. We went for the S'more Night, very special experience for us. The nearby Discover Lake has a nice trail, which Lake San Marcos lacks. There are a lot of dining choices on San Marcos Blvd too, but have to drive. The hotel guests get 20% off from the Grill, which we haven't explored yet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Jessy S,

Thank you for your review and for adding your pictures to our Trip Advisor library. We are proud to provide many unique amenities here on Lake San Marcos at an economical price and are pleased to see you enjoyed our water toys. Our complimentary S’mores night has become a staple for our Saturday evenings and our entire team of passionate hoteliers looks forward to seeing you for your next quick getaway!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norridge, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location is beautiful and calm. The staff is friendly and cares about your request, concerns and makes it their priority. The rooms are clean and well decorated. The bed, showers and towels are the best. If you are a guest once you will return. You will leave with appreciation for the time you had at the Lakehouse.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second level facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Liza P,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our new Four Star property during your travels from Illinois. We aim to match our unique serene Lake San Marcos location with a guest experience centered upon genuinely passionate and personable customer service excellence. I will be sure to share your review with our talented team of hoteliers who I am honored to work with on a daily basis. Scripted interactions and bland service simply will never have a home here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort. Subsequently I am elated to read your review and our entire team hopes to have the honor of having you as our valued guest in the near future!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakehouse Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Address: 1025 La Bonita Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakehouse Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort is proud to offer affordable luxury in an unbeatable setting on beautiful Lake San Marcos matched with a guest service experience second to none. A refreshing deviation from the cookie cutter mundane resort norm, Lakehouse Hotel and Resort creates a tranquil escape from life's daily stresses via the irreplaceable serenity of lakefront luxury and service excellence.Lakehouse Hotel and Resort offers 142 brand new spacious rooms inclusive of breathtaking views, spa like showers, amazingly comfortable memory foam beds, over 100 channels of high definition television with premium movie channels, complimentary wireless internet, a magnificent lobby area with a fireplace, library, board games, 2 tremendously spacious pool decks and hot tubs, hammocks, fire pits throughout the spacious property, 24 hour in room dining, and many more legendary amenities. Guests of the resort are encouraged to enjoy our country club, St. Mark Golf, which offers a state of the art fitness center, driving range, 18 holes of championship golf and 18 holes of executive golf. The Grill restaurant offers fine dining for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy the delicious full menu to be delivered as room service as well. While guests have all the amenities available to them to ensure they never have to leave our resort, the staff of passionate hoteliers matches our unbeatable location with a level of passionate service that will help to create lifelong memories. We take great pride in providing you with a luxurious escape second to none. On behalf of our entire team here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort we eagerly await your arrival. Escape From The Everyday.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lakehouse Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.