We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Marcos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lakehouse Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1025 La Bonita Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“San Marcos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Lakehouse Hotel & Resort in San Marcos, CA. When I told the manager of the Applebees in San Marcos that I was planning on staying there she changed the subject to golf and I thought oh my I may have made a mistake. The hotel has undergone major remodeling and I was lucky enough to pick a perfect time to stay. I was in room 4204 2nd floor with a perfect view of the lake. The room was perfect and better than the description. It has 2 pools and 2 hot tubs. The St. Mark Golf course is within walking distance for golf and a great place to eat.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms offer the best view and stay in buildings 400 or 500.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
sa10,

Thank you for choosing the brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort during your visit from Yuma and for your kind feedback. Receiving such praise from a Senior Reviewer is an immense honor. We aim to provide a relaxing resort escape that still maintains its affordability without sacrificing our firm commitment to personable service excellence. I will be sure to share your review with our entire team and we look forward to your return the next time you are in San Marcos!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    48
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
74
93
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Lakehouse Hotel and Resort has been Totally remodeled and is absolutely beautiful! Everything is brand new and very well done. The rooms are large, top-notch and the beds are 5-star quality and comfort. The view of the Lake is stunning and the two large swimming pools and lounging areas couldn't be better. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our round of golf in the morning and then the lake view from our patio later in the evening. What a wonderful special weekend for us! We will recommend the new Lakehouse to our family and friends. It's a great get-away place for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a Lake view! And play a round of golf while you're there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Diane S,

Our entire team of passionate hoteliers takes immense pride in creating a memorably personable, relaxing and luxurious escape for each and every one of our valued guests. Subsequently reading your review brings great satisfaction to our entire team at our new resort. Our Lakeview rooms have been a hit thus far and we are pleased to hear you were able to take in a round at our country club, St. Marks. We are also pleased to offer an additional executive course for those such as myself that prefer/need a more easily obtainable par. Word of mouth is tremendously important during our young age and I thank you for sharing your experience with your friends and for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Lakehouse Hotel was a wonderful place to get away for a weekend, as my boyfriend and I are San Diego natives. The amenities were brand new, the room extremely spacious, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room looked out on the beautiful lake with a balcony to enjoy the sunset. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Danielle K,

Thank you for choosing the brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort during your local visit from San Diego. We are pleased to hear we succeeded in matching our breathtaking location and spacious rooms with genuinely personable customer service excellence we demand from ourselves. Thank you for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a great place and a good value. The staff is wonderful and the accommodations are pretty, spacious, and clean. I especially enjoyed the fire pit on the pool deck. I would definitely stay here again if we are visiting the area.
Nancy D.
Alpharetta, Georgia

Room Tip: Request either a pool or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
nancy d,

Our firm commitment here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort is to offer our epic setting and legendary service experience at an economically unbeatable rate. I am delighted you felt we succeeded in doing so during your visit from Georgia and we greatly appreciate you recommending our new resort to your friends!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

LOVED staying at the Lakehouse. The staff was all very pleasant and accommodating and made us feel right at home. The room itself was awesome! It was awesome being able to sit in the adirondack chairs and look out over the lake. Oh, and don't even get me started on how comfy the beds are...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Alyson S,

Thank you adding such amazing pictures to our hotels Trip Advisor gallery and for your review. You can’t really beat the tranquility of taking in the lake from our spacious balcony seating. Please join us again in the near future and thank you once again for your feedback!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff here is so very nice and helpful. The resort is beautiful and very clean. This is by far one of the top places I have had the pleasure of staying at. It gets 5 stars from me. All the furnishings are top grade and decorated to perfection. There are a lot of activities within a short drive. The swimming pools and hot tubs are clean and beautiful. It is so serene and spa like. You get a lot for your money here. I will be back and bring the kids, they will love it here.

Room Tip: They have rooms to fit any ones needs, even two bed room villas with great views. The decor is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Margie C,

Thank you for choosing Lakehouse Hotel and Resort during your travels from Georgia. We are honored to be the source of such a complimentary title and that we provided the best luxury experience you have encountered. We take great pride in offering a personable escape from life’s daily stresses and eagerly await your return with the kids!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was able to enjoy the hotel on its opening week. The hotel is beautiful, very modern. The staff is great, very helpful and eager to help. The rooms are just amazing. New beds with linens, new tv. The bathroom is amazing, all new fixtures. The view from the room was amazing.

This hotel is a great place to stay, good views, good rooms and outstanding staff. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
bear3059,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our brand new resort with us. I am very fortunate to have such a talented team of passionate hoteliers eagerly invested in the honor of creating lifelong memories for our valued guests via our inspired service. We thank you once again for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakehouse Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Address: 1025 La Bonita Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakehouse Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort is proud to offer affordable luxury in an unbeatable setting on beautiful Lake San Marcos matched with a guest service experience second to none. A refreshing deviation from the cookie cutter mundane resort norm, Lakehouse Hotel and Resort creates a tranquil escape from life's daily stresses via the irreplaceable serenity of lakefront luxury and service excellence.Lakehouse Hotel and Resort offers 142 brand new spacious rooms inclusive of breathtaking views, spa like showers, amazingly comfortable memory foam beds, over 100 channels of high definition television with premium movie channels, complimentary wireless internet, a magnificent lobby area with a fireplace, library, board games, 2 tremendously spacious pool decks and hot tubs, hammocks, fire pits throughout the spacious property, 24 hour in room dining, and many more legendary amenities. Guests of the resort are encouraged to enjoy our country club, St. Mark Golf, which offers a state of the art fitness center, driving range, 18 holes of championship golf and 18 holes of executive golf. The Grill restaurant offers fine dining for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy the delicious full menu to be delivered as room service as well. While guests have all the amenities available to them to ensure they never have to leave our resort, the staff of passionate hoteliers matches our unbeatable location with a level of passionate service that will help to create lifelong memories. We take great pride in providing you with a luxurious escape second to none. On behalf of our entire team here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort we eagerly await your arrival. Escape From The Everyday.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lakehouse Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.