We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Marcos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Marcos to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Marcos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Camarillo, California
1 review
“great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great value for the business or leisure traveler. High definition TV, refrigerator, microwave, and free internet. What else could you ask for? Good location with easy access and close to lots of stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    62
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
33
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel. The only area of disappointment was the fact that we were not told of the private shuttle service from the San Diego to the hotel. We contacted the hotel prior to our arrival and were told that the best way to get to the hotel was via cab. This was very expensive. In excess of $100.00 from the San Diego airport to the hotel. We took the private shuttle service back to the airport and it cost half the price of taking a cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stay at the Hampton Inn each August for the Stone Brewing Anniversary party at UC San Marcos campus as this hotel is walking (ok, staggering) distance from the party. They have comfortable beds with great bulky comforters, comfortable AC, clean rooms, and the hotel is relatively quiet, even on such a big party weekend!! The pool is nice, and the breakfast is pretty good with great coffee. We botched up our reservation this year and mistakenly booked the Hampton Inn in San Marcos Texas. When we showed up to check in and realized our mistake, we were sure we were going to be scrambling to find another place for such a busy weekend, but General Manager David hooked us up with a room set aside for emergencies. We were so grateful as we really like this location and hotel. David even took care of calling the other Hampton to cancel our reservation there with no penalty. Great service!! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here on our recent family vacation to San Diego. This hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and there was never any noise. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Free parking, and free breakfast. The pool area was beautiful & always clean. The front desk staff was very helpful & friendly. It was my first time here, I used to stay at the Residence Inn, but they are not nearly as good after the GM Steve left. A few weeks ago I stayed at
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort and absolutely love but they were sold out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is very good located and rooms are clean and well maintained. Breakfast is excellent with several options to select. However the rate per night was quite high comparing with similar hotels in the zone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice hotel, but maintenance is required in the bathroom. Floor tiles are loose,slippery, and dangerous. Still nursing an injured toe! We did request a smoking room, but some sort of air freshner or an open window might help. Smelled stale and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great service and accomodations: 24 hr coffee, hot breakfast available, microwave/fridge upon request, and minutes away from restaurant row from the famous, Phil's BBQ. And prices were reasonable. Registration and check-out took less than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Address: 123 Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.