We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discovery...Excellent Diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Kat's Restaurant

Mama Kat's Restaurant
950 W San Marcos Blvd, Suite J, San Marcos, CA 92078
760 591 4558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 210 Restaurants in San Marcos
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tomball, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great discovery...Excellent Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was on a whim that I stopped into Mama Kat's. The service was friendly and the food was excellent.

It was nice to find an old fashioned cafe still in existence. Oh, btw, the pie was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just go!! Great food, great service, we'll be back every day we're here! Big menu with lots of choices, endless coffee...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Be willing to wait and wait to get a seat for breakfast, but when you do get seated, man is it worth it. You won't leave hungry or broke, just happy with the food you just ate

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are going out for breakfast and not going to Mama Kat's, you might as well stay home! I have travelled around the world and to this day, no one can beat their Eggs Benedict. Weekends can be extremely busy...but for me, extremely with the wait. Want a protein breakfast? Try their Marco Polo omelet, it'll carry you the whole day, yum!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee and breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went to this restaurant twice during our last stay in Escondido at the Welk Resorts. About a 15 min drive. There is always a wait however so if you are hungry, maybe get there early or grab a snack. They serve coffee outside while you wait which is a nice touch. Coffee is quite good actually and I am a Starbucks coffee drinker so I like stronger types of coffee. They add the coffee charge to your bill when you sit down. In case you are wondering, they aren't free. The pies are the best. We had the custard pie and blueberry pie. Both were wonderful and we can't wait to go back to try others. According to a waiter, they make 100 pies in the beginning of the week and when they sell out they sell out. We had custard on Saturday and when we went back on Sunday, it was sold out.

The egg's benedict was great! Especilaly their special one with the sausage and gravy. Must try.

Overall a great place for breakfast and great service. If you can stand a roughly 30 min wait, it is worth it. They will tell you the wait is always longer than actual so don't get discouraged if they tell you 1 hour. It didn't take that long for us for both of the days.

On Sunday, a guy was there making ballon animals for kids. It was great. He was pretty awesome. Not sure though how often he is there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Kat's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mama Kat's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Kat's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.