We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1245 Los Vallecitos Boulevard, San Marcos, CA 92069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the beginning of the month for our family members wedding. My first impression of the hotel was a great one! Since I work in the hospitality industry, I am pretty conscious of everything that goes on in the hotel world. The staff were all great! We arrived early and they got us in right away and were very accomodating! We got up to our room and were very pleased. The cleanliness was great, the interior was very modern with a great layout. (We stayed in a two room suite). The beds were super comfy! The breakfast was pretty good. Things were pretty well maintained except just maybe one time some items ran out and I had to wait a little longer than I expected. But it was very busy and I know how that gets! My guest service agent mode kicked in and I just wanted to help the breakfast attendants out haha, but had to tell myself that I'm on vacation and no working for me! Glad to have free wifi in the hotel as well, thats a major plus. The pool and spa, as well as billiards room looked very inviting but unfortunately we did not have time to partake in that fun!

The only "negative'' thing I have to say was that the guest market area wasn't very well stocked and didn't have much of a variety to choose from. Other than that, excellent stay and we definitely recommend this lovely hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    51
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
105
37
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

So pleased with this property! As noted by others staff is great-friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent (a real meal with eggs,yoghurts, cereals and even waffles) Room was spotless which I find unusual for this type of property. For a quieter room ask for South/Parking lot side as the freeway exit and street side seem a bit noisier.
Hotel is very well designed and makes your stay quite comfortable. Free internet works well.
Definitely the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: South side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Attending (another) volleyball tournament and arrived late with family after a long drive. What refreshment! A quick, courteous check-in, then falling into a super-clean, well-appointed, very inviting room, with a bed to lounge in. Because of late reservations, we stayed in a "studio" with a fold-out sofa rather than a suite we would have preferred. The quality and space seemed much more than we paid for, really plenty for four individuals. My only knock was some road noise just as we bedded down. Slept like a rock anyway. The AM breakfast wasn't as expansive as some, but the quality of the food and lounge environment were among the best ever. We weren't there long enough to enjoy the pool area and billiards room, but both looked very inviting. We'll come back

Room Tip: We were on ground floor near lobby. The communal areas were nearby and very inviting (and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boling
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family from Texas attended the wedding of a relative in your area on Friday, February 15, 2013. There were a lots and lots of us and your hotel and staff were the very best. All of our needs and questions were dealt with very pleasantly and professionally and we enjoyed the stay to the highest. Rooms were very clean, service was great, staff - can't remember all names but shout out to Nicole and Tony(night shift I think!). I will always stay at your facility when in the area and will seek out other Residence Inns based on the treatment we received while at your hotel. Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Erma M,

Thank you for your recent visit to our property and for your kind comments. I will be sure and pass them on to our staff, particularly Nicole, and Tony. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to serving you the next time your in San Marcos.

Sincerely,

Steve Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for a wedding, renting about 10 rooms. The rooms were very nice and clean and the public areas were comfortable and well-kept. Breakfast was surprisingly good and well-prepared. The best part, however, was the professionalism and friendliness of the staff, which is a sign of a well-managed property. They were consistently helpful and accommodating, even when we asked to take over the grill and outdoor area with 30 friends and family members. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you've got a travel companion who tends to open your hotel room door when you're not in a state to be seen by passersby, you'll like the layout of the guest rooms here: one enters the room into a fully operational kitchen and a lounge/living room area; the bed, bathroom, and dressing area are around the bend, out of sight of the door. All is comfortable, fresh, clean.

The rooms are soundproof (we heard not a peep from guests in rooms on either side of us, yet we know that both rooms contained families with small children)

The breakfast was generous (hot and cold food, healthy and indulgent options, all regularly restocked) and the lobby area where guests ate offered a variety of spaces for small and larger groups to gather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There aren't many places to stay in San Marcos itself so we booked blindly and were very pleasantly surprised. Hotel decor was up to date, the room was large with everything we could possibly need including a full kitchen, staff was pleasant, bed was comfy, and the room noise (even the hallway!) were quiet. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend to anyone I know headed this way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos

Address: 1245 Los Vallecitos Boulevard, San Marcos, CA 92069
Location: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Residence Inn San Diego North San Marcos hotel by Marriott blends stylish modern luxuries like stainless steel appliances and 32-inch flat panel HDTV's, all the comforts you expect for an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.