We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD BASIC PIZZA & BEER IN SLO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Host Pizza & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Village Host Pizza & Grill
2138 Broad St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 (Formerly Pizza Hut)
+1 805-543-4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 257 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $4 - $10
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“GOOD BASIC PIZZA & BEER IN SLO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been visiting this location off and on for years every time we visit family in the area. The beer is cold and the pizza is pretty good. The only negative is that when the place is busy it can get extremely noisy. There is better pizza in the SLO area but this place is a good place to take it easy and have some food when you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't know what all the hype is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

we were on a long trip back from Big Sur and wanted a great local pizza restaurant on the way home. We saw the 4 stars and decided this would be the place. Basically, it looks like a Roundtable Pizza location- the type of no frills, order at the counter spot thats popular for college kids.
Pizza was just ok- why is everyone raving about this crust? Its hard and you have to chew on it forever. Picture pizza ingredients on a dense cracker. I've had pizza in New York and Chicago and everywhere in between (and we had people from both cities respectively in our group) and this was nowhere NEAR the best pizza any of us had eaten.
Nice selection of toppings and a nice salad bar. Other than that, its just ok

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanPhillips, Public Relations Manager at Village Host Pizza & Grill, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Retrorich, Thank you for stopping by our restaurant and taking them time to write an honest review. We are glad you took notice of the extra effort we put towards a large selection of quality toppings. That is specifically an area in which we strive to exceed the expectations of customers. While our unique dough recipe and pizza cooking style has been a big part of our 'hype' for nearly 50 years, we understand it may initially come across as 'different' to some folks who are used to other pizza styles. We hope you could give us a second try. If interested, please email contact@villagehostpizza.com for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“eat it to much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

eat it to much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Suprisingly good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Suprisingly good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great for lunch - and I...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

Great for lunch - and I love the salad bar. Always good and really great owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Host Pizza & Grill also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Village Host Pizza & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Host Pizza & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.