We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food at a great price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Home Town Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Home Town Buffet
485 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
(805) 541-5594
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 265 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent food at a great price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic dinner, this is the place, NOT. If you have a couple hungry kids who'd rather pick their meal from many options than being tied to a menu, this is a good place to eat. Going to a Home Town Buffet is not on my to-do list when I am traveling on business, this time we were staying at the Embassy Suites for a long weekend with the kids and the HTB was just to right place to visit for a dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I can't recommend this buffet restaurant. I became ill the last time I ate there. The food is poor quality slop in my view. Not good at all. Maybe if you strictly prefer quantity over quality you will like it. Not me. I do like buffets, but not this one. Very bland food too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very new facility - not many there when we visited. Food was good for this type of restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Food choices is about 10 cents a tasting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

When u want to be in control of your food combinations and quality u should enjoy HTB...for a $8 lunch each choice is about 10 cents.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“fake fake fake buit good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

fake fake fake buit good good good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Town Buffet also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Home Town Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Town Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.