We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when your driving around slo town .....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bread

House of Bread
299 Marsh St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 542-0255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Bagels, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: We scratch make everything on the premise from all natural ingredients. We specialize in unique bread varities from basil parmesan, wholesome 14-grain harvest to decadent chocolate zuchinni bread. For our lunch offerings, we use Boar's Head natural meats and local produce. We have a huge sample, so come on in and try a fresh slice of bread on the house.
Santorini, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“when your driving around slo town .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stop on in and have a great sandwich made to your order , fresh salad & tasty soup of the day !
use your imagination !!!!, everyone's treated w/respect & good cheer .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
slo life
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“CAUTION! This place could be addicting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

CAUTION! This place could be addicting. Try their squaw, pumpkin, or cinnamon bread,...AWESOME!!! On occasion House of Bread will be handing out samples at our local Costco's, that's where I'll be, LOL!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Cinnamon Rolls EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

These are the BEST cinnamon rolls I have ever tasted (and I have tasted a few). When you walk in you are surrounded by the different smells and you can walk right over and choose a sample from a daily variety of breads and rolls. For lunch you can't beat the Panini with turkey, artichoke hearts, and pesto. The varieties of breads provide something for everyone, and if you are visiting SLO you shouldn't leave town without stopping by. They are also conveniently located right across from the fwy onramp.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Baking Classes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you ever want to learn how to bake homemade bread, take Sheila's baking classes. I can now bake many loaves of bread. I also buy most of my flour from House of Bread. It's great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keeping with tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Thanks to my wonderful mother fresh baked bread was the norm in our house. House of Bread allows me to maintain this wholesome tradition. I love the nutty crunchiness of their Harvest Grain in the mornings with a little coconut spread. The squaw bread is excellent for sandwiches. House of Bread is one of my regular stops when I'm doing my shopping.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bread also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to House of Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.