We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaffa Cafe

Jaffa Cafe
1308 Monterrey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3128
805-543-2449
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Avila Beach, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I'm in love with this place! Cheap, delicious food in a bright, friendly, laid back atmosphere!

We got the falafel plate ($8) with feta ($1) and grape leaves($4). Everything was so delicious! We filled out our paper order form and it was ready in less than 10 minutes. Wine and a small beer tap are available!

Don't forget to grab your sauces and peppers by the pop machine.

The one thing I wasn't a fan of was all of the paper products they used - not very green but hopefully they recycle the items.

I will definitely back back for more goodness for my belly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    32
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch while visiting my family. They frequent the cafe as well as enjoy takeout. The falafel pita wrap is their favorite. My son requested hot sauce and topped his pita with their cucumber sour cream sauce (tzediki). The lentil soup was very hot and delicious. It was nice to have so many vegetarian choices as well as meat for the carnivores in our group. Beverages are self serve. Baklava looked tempting. Payment is collected at the end of the meal at the register.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We ate here when we were in SLO for a night. The food was good and healthy and not expensive. You can eat still like falafel and humus platters but also meat, shoarma etc. Its a nice place to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. Great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

When I'm in the area, I never not go here!
*Outstanding selection of vegetarian food
*The best falafels on the planet
*Generous portions
*Super nice people
*Outdoor seating
*Nice atmosphere
*Very reasonably priced
*Beer on tap
*Vast selection of drinks, beer and wine
*Order at the counter and pay when you are finished

Not to be missed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Good food at a very fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had dinner here one night and thought it was pretty good. It's more a college type place IMO. No atmosphere really but good service and ok food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaffa Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Jaffa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaffa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.