We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaffa Cafe

Jaffa Cafe
1308 Monterrey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3128
805-543-2449
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Alamo, California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

As good as the other reviews. My husband just brought me the takeout, it was great! Harrisa sauce was complex and a great condiment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    62
    28
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great food made fresh with tasty ingredients. Staff was fabulous and Adnan made us feel right at home! Don't miss the baklava

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

One word, BAKLAVA!

Look forward to coming here every time I visit. Delish. Other stuff was very good too.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Falafal and grape leaves appetizer, and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I like going to Jaffa for the Falafal plate which is a plate lunch with a warm soft pita, some falafal balls, hummus, etc. I put it all together and make my own sandwich out of it. They always give you a cold pickeled pepper on the plate (pepperconchinis). You can also order falafal as just the pita sandwich which comes wrapped up in foil & is more portable. I have eaten it in my car that way. I love the get the container of grape leaves wrapped over rice, they are cold & so yummy! On weekdays it gets really busy after about 11:30 with the lunch crowd and it can get slow, so get there by 11:15 at the latest, or after 1:30 to 2 pm. There is minimal parking. It is also best to get there early to get a spot, otherwise you will end up parking around the corner on the street and walking. On some days they make rice (they should do it every day) & they will put a little sign on the counter saying rice today. Then if you order a plate you can have rice on it too for the same price. They grill chicken on those vertical roasters in the restaurant -- called chicken schwarma. They also serve lamb. I always eat vegetarian there. It is very good, and prices are reasonable. I think about 50% of their business is to go, and the other is eaten at the restaurant. There are a good amount of tables inside. Casual.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent shawarma and gyros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had lunch at the original (San Luis Obispo) Jaffa Cafe recently, and enjoyed it very much. I had a shawarma sandwich (gyro meat in a pita wrap) and it was excellent. The seasonings were excellent, and there was a wide selection of mild to hot seasonings at the condiment counter to kick it up a notch. The side salad was decent but not special. You order at the counter and pick up your order when it's ready. Very casual and friendly. I have also had their stuffed grape leaves, gyros, lamb kebabs, and hummus during earlier visits, and enjoyed them all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaffa Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County

Been to Jaffa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaffa Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.