We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who was first, Outback or Tahoe Joe's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Joe's

Tahoe Joe's
485 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-6546
(805) 543-8383
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 262 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Who was first, Outback or Tahoe Joe's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to several Outback Steakhouses before and when we entered Tahoe Joe's we were reminded strongly of Outback. That is not a bad thing though because we love Outback.
The food was very good and I would go there again, be it during a business trip or with the family. My first choice while staying at the Embassy Suites because it is walking distance and I can enjoy the glass of wine without thinking of driving.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You'd think being a "Chain" it would not have such tastty food or that it would have a pre-packaged, heat-it-up in the bag oversalted taste. No way! The steaks are outstanding and th potato sides are great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice & easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice steakhouse, similar to an Outback Steakhouse. Easy walking distance from the Embassy Suites in SLO. Clean restaurant and efficient staff, with reasonable prices. Food was prepared as ordered, especially easy since I like my steaks "Philly Blue", cool center. Lots of families when we were there, but kids were quiet and still made the visit pleasant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ordered a medium and ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Food and service was good but too bad they over cooked my meat. I ordered the surloin steak and the waiter only offered medium, medium well and well for some reason. I ordered medium but it came out well done and the waiter disappeard for me to send it back. I ate a few bites and the meat was very tender but dry due to it being over cooked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had lunch - great nachos and appetizers. There is plenty of food and the service was super. We enjoyed the outdoor seating on a lovely day

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Tahoe Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.