We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant

Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant
1601 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929
805-544-6660
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 236 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
282 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am not a gourmet on Mexican food but the food was good, hot and served quickly. The margaurates were a bit weak so I would opt for the more expensive ones or wine or beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
North Hills
Level Contributor
447 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A colleague and I went to Pepe Delgato's for Dinner Sunday evening. I had a beer and my colleague ordered a Margarita, which he said the Margarita was very good. The drinks arrived promptly, as did the chips and salsa. I thought the salsa was a bit on the watery side, but it was still tasty.

Both of us ordered the Steak Picado, which came with lots of rice, a fair amount of beans with cheese melted on top and three hot tortillas. The combination of peppers, onions and steak was very flavorful, although they were sort of skimply with steak. The service was very good and we enjoyed my dinners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food was OK , the service was a bit slow but not bad. the staff is very friendly and accommodating. If is a decent place for Mexican food if you are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adnanshamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food, great service,reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is one of my favorite Mexican restaurants in California. The food is mouthwateringly delicious, lots of tasty chewy cheese, great choices. The service here is really super, quick and responsive, friendly and helpful. Prices are moderate and a very good deal for the delicious large servings. Lots of tortilla chips and fresh salsa.

The restaurant is often crowded, but I've never had to wait more than about 10 minutes as they get tables ready super fast after diners leave.

Nice decor, certainly stylish enough to impress but still really comfortable. A nice bar area if you want to watch some sports and sip a margarita.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSavage_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A cheese lovers dream!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Just passing thru town on our way down from SF and read the reviews on here, so we decided to stop and try. Yummo!! Very reasonable prices for the quantity of food on the plates. Every one of our 5 entrées was loaded with cheese! As cheese lovers, this was super exciting!! My chicken fajitas were fully loaded with veggies and the chips n salsa were freshly made. The staff was extremely friendly and by the time we left the place was full. Will definitely be back! **VEGAN FRIENDLY. They use peanut oil to prepare food like veggie fajitas and beans.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing