We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant

Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant
1601 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929
805-544-6660
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 256 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am not a gourmet on Mexican food but the food was good, hot and served quickly. The margaurates were a bit weak so I would opt for the more expensive ones or wine or beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    34
    14
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Hills
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A colleague and I went to Pepe Delgato's for Dinner Sunday evening. I had a beer and my colleague ordered a Margarita, which he said the Margarita was very good. The drinks arrived promptly, as did the chips and salsa. I thought the salsa was a bit on the watery side, but it was still tasty.

Both of us ordered the Steak Picado, which came with lots of rice, a fair amount of beans with cheese melted on top and three hot tortillas. The combination of peppers, onions and steak was very flavorful, although they were sort of skimply with steak. The service was very good and we enjoyed my dinners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food was OK , the service was a bit slow but not bad. the staff is very friendly and accommodating. If is a decent place for Mexican food if you are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food, great service,reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is one of my favorite Mexican restaurants in California. The food is mouthwateringly delicious, lots of tasty chewy cheese, great choices. The service here is really super, quick and responsive, friendly and helpful. Prices are moderate and a very good deal for the delicious large servings. Lots of tortilla chips and fresh salsa.

The restaurant is often crowded, but I've never had to wait more than about 10 minutes as they get tables ready super fast after diners leave.

Nice decor, certainly stylish enough to impress but still really comfortable. A nice bar area if you want to watch some sports and sip a margarita.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A cheese lovers dream!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Just passing thru town on our way down from SF and read the reviews on here, so we decided to stop and try. Yummo!! Very reasonable prices for the quantity of food on the plates. Every one of our 5 entrées was loaded with cheese! As cheese lovers, this was super exciting!! My chicken fajitas were fully loaded with veggies and the chips n salsa were freshly made. The staff was extremely friendly and by the time we left the place was full. Will definitely be back! **VEGAN FRIENDLY. They use peanut oil to prepare food like veggie fajitas and beans.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Delgado's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.