We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Grosseto, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice place. The staff is very welcoming, the location is very practical (right out of 101), the room is clean and has everything we need. The hot jacuzzi is simply wonderful and open till 10 pm !! We still have to try the breakfast, but I wanted to write the review anyway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guybrush79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

For $72, I got a clean, comfy room, and seeing the hotel wasn't busy, I got a room set back away from the roadway and it was quiet and peaceful....the breakfast here ISNT..... Juice and packaged danishes and muffins are it but an IHOP and Denny's are on either side and a Starbucks, McDonald's and a Ralph's grocery store are directly across the street....all and all......a great value at this price point


Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bucketlistgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
188 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We thought that our room was a little "worn" and could do with some updating and maintenance. Our sink was blocked. The pool area was good. However the pool was too cold - although the hot tub was fine. Breakfast was quite basic and consisted of just pastries, juice and coffee which was laid out in the lobby. There was no seating area as such so had to take it back to our room.

This motel is off the road so no traffic noise. We thought that this motel offered good value and was o.k. for one night. It is also convenient for accessing highway 1.

The receptionist was helpful and gave us some restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We initially booked only one night here as we were a little hesitant given some of the reviews, and the great price we booked the room for. The motel is cheap and basic, but if you are just looking for somewhere to out your head down at night then this place is just the ticket. We were impressed with our first night so booked a second night at the same rate. The fridge provided in the room is very large and handy, the TV in our room was flat screen and modern. The towels could do with updating as they are clearly old and well used. Breakfast is very basic in the motel, however there is an IHOP and Denny's on either side of the motel which will honour a 20% discount as a motel guest, just show them your room key. Jabal on the front desk was extremely friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlottie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed four nights. The room was very clean. The staff was great. specially Jabal. He was always happy & asking if he could do anything for me or get me anything. The breakfast was just right for me. I am not a big breakfast person. Right across the street from shopping & restaurants. Also had a Denny's on site. Close to the Elks lodge which I took advantage of several times. I had a wonderful stay. Thanks Jabal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnadownum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I also wished that the hotel websites had Motel 6 on the top of their lists (they were half the price and I didn't even think of them until I got there) because for $180, that's the quality you get here at Vagabond. We were desperate for a place near Pismo and since those we all $$$$, we tried to take the lesser of the evils, but Vagabond's got little over any other motel. For ~$200, you'd expect at least a full bath set (shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, heck, toothbrush and toothpaste!), but no, you get your basic motel-dried-up-half-browned-old-soap and not much else to top it off.
At least the weather at the beaches were good....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 14Munky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed one night at the Vagabond Inn. Standard is what you would expect of a low budget hotel, although prices were not. The rooms were very basic, clean and functional. Breakfast was included, consisting of a bagel and coffee from a machine served next to the check-in desk.

Neighbour's all-night partying and loud conversation on the balcony outside the room meant that sleep was in short supply. It was the weekend of a beer festival so not much the hotel could do about that.

Experience was less than we had hoped for but survivable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snnpr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#16 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#26 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#24 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Address: 210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing