We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Grosseto, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice place. The staff is very welcoming, the location is very practical (right out of 101), the room is clean and has everything we need. The hot jacuzzi is simply wonderful and open till 10 pm !! We still have to try the breakfast, but I wanted to write the review anyway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    43
    28
    20
See reviews for
35
49
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For $72, I got a clean, comfy room, and seeing the hotel wasn't busy, I got a room set back away from the roadway and it was quiet and peaceful....the breakfast here ISNT..... Juice and packaged danishes and muffins are it but an IHOP and Denny's are on either side and a Starbucks, McDonald's and a Ralph's grocery store are directly across the street....all and all......a great value at this price point


Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We thought that our room was a little "worn" and could do with some updating and maintenance. Our sink was blocked. The pool area was good. However the pool was too cold - although the hot tub was fine. Breakfast was quite basic and consisted of just pastries, juice and coffee which was laid out in the lobby. There was no seating area as such so had to take it back to our room.

This motel is off the road so no traffic noise. We thought that this motel offered good value and was o.k. for one night. It is also convenient for accessing highway 1.

The receptionist was helpful and gave us some restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We initially booked only one night here as we were a little hesitant given some of the reviews, and the great price we booked the room for. The motel is cheap and basic, but if you are just looking for somewhere to out your head down at night then this place is just the ticket. We were impressed with our first night so booked a second night at the same rate. The fridge provided in the room is very large and handy, the TV in our room was flat screen and modern. The towels could do with updating as they are clearly old and well used. Breakfast is very basic in the motel, however there is an IHOP and Denny's on either side of the motel which will honour a 20% discount as a motel guest, just show them your room key. Jabal on the front desk was extremely friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed four nights. The room was very clean. The staff was great. specially Jabal. He was always happy & asking if he could do anything for me or get me anything. The breakfast was just right for me. I am not a big breakfast person. Right across the street from shopping & restaurants. Also had a Denny's on site. Close to the Elks lodge which I took advantage of several times. I had a wonderful stay. Thanks Jabal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I also wished that the hotel websites had Motel 6 on the top of their lists (they were half the price and I didn't even think of them until I got there) because for $180, that's the quality you get here at Vagabond. We were desperate for a place near Pismo and since those we all $$$$, we tried to take the lesser of the evils, but Vagabond's got little over any other motel. For ~$200, you'd expect at least a full bath set (shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, heck, toothbrush and toothpaste!), but no, you get your basic motel-dried-up-half-browned-old-soap and not much else to top it off.
At least the weather at the beaches were good....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed one night at the Vagabond Inn. Standard is what you would expect of a low budget hotel, although prices were not. The rooms were very basic, clean and functional. Breakfast was included, consisting of a bagel and coffee from a machine served next to the check-in desk.

Neighbour's all-night partying and loud conversation on the balcony outside the room meant that sleep was in short supply. It was the weekend of a beer festival so not much the hotel could do about that.

Experience was less than we had hoped for but survivable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Address: 210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.