We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
NL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is ok for a one night stay. The rooms are old and there is a lot of noise (walking, shower) from neighbours above and to the sides. We had a room next to the ice-machine, which makes a lot of noise when used (especially at night...).

We booked this hotel thru Expedia and got a very good deal. Breakfast is good, with a few sweet options and coffee and juice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our San Luis Obispo Vagabond inn, we value each guest opinion and concerns, we hope you will give us a second chance, please do give us a call directly at the hotel and we will gladly book you a room, more convenient to your needs, we are glad you liked our complimentary breakfast and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    43
    28
    20
See reviews for
35
49
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
porterville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in two room the two nights we were there. We paid almost 200/night, not worth it at all! My boyfriend said he would recommend not paying more than 40 bucks a night for this hotel. Both rooms smelled like stale cigarette smoke and were basically falling apart and had very old and uncomfortable beds (the first one was probably from the 80's just like the room decor, the size of a full bed not a queen like they said, and so bouncy it would bang the headboard every time either one of us rolled over). The outlets were so loose my straightener wouldn’t stay plugged in, irons leaked, the shower didn't work right in both room and tubs filled up with water as you tried to shower, and the second room didn’t even have a working heater, it only blew cold air. The list goes on, it was just really bad. We felt ripped off! The beds and the neighbors were the worst part. I got absolutely no sleep the first night due to noise and froze the second night; it really ruin my weekend. They should have kicked those people out but didn't and their excuse was it was festival of beers weekend, which we went to and those people who kept that end of the hotel up were not even there. I was so tired from lack of sleep that we left the festival 2 hrs early so I could go back to the hotel to sleep during the day at 2p.m. My boyfriend wound up doing stuff without me because I was sooooo tired. Thankfully he woke me up for dinner because that was the best part of the trip. I just would not recommend this place for the price I paid or if you like to sleep in a clean quiet room. My stay sucked and I felt like the hotel didn't care. I asked to be moved closer to the front desk and they didn't even try even though rooms were empty. It was like talking to a brick wall, the guy just kept saying the middle section. I wish we had left but I do not know my rights when it comes to stuff like that. I feel like I should have been refunded for the first night, but I know that will never happen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sadden to read that our efforts to move you to a different part of the hotel, after you expressed your concerns about the other guest staying, were not to your satisfacation. we tried our best to move you closer, as we had explained to that day, it was a busy memorial weekend, with limited space available, due to the beer festival at the madonna inn, as were aware,we apologize for the other guests behaviour.
We will have our maintence person look into all of your concerns and address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Pool and jacuzzi were closed for repairs but they didn't inform us upon checking in. When we called the front desk about the broken hair dryer in the rooms they had no hair dryer to replace broken ones. "All their hair dryers" were loaned out. Rude manager-front desk persons

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your concerns during your stay at our hotel in march 2013, all guest reviews help us improve guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vagabond during a motorcycle event. My room was fine, and the bed comfortable, however the sheets were not fitted and too small for the bed. I was there three nights and actually asked if another sheet could be put on the bed and was told, "no problem". Well, it was never done, so I spent three nights re-tucking the sheets to keep from being directly on the mattress. Ewwww.

The electric outlet in the sink area had a ground prong broken off in the outlet. This needed to be removed so that it was useful. It made only one grounded outlet available.

All in all, it was ok. But it was definitely an average motel.

Well located near restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top in back if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Vagabond Inn in san luis obispo for lodging needs during your recent vacation, we want to apologize for the inconvience you experienced during your stay regarding the bed linen, we had thought the extra sheets you picked up solved the issue in question, but we are sorry we did not follow up on that request, we will look into all of your concerns.
We are happy to read the motel and location, surrounding restaurants and shopping was to your liking we will keep on improving with all comments and suggestions from guest.

Thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The motel was clean with large rooms. Owners were friendly and helpful. We spent just one night traveling between San Diego and San Francisco. Good location just off highway. Café close by along with shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Nelson152,

The staff and vagabond inn, want to thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are happy to read found the location and service to your liking and were able to take advantage of the shopping and restuarant choices on and near by our location, we value your opinion ad hoop hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here while driving between San Fran and LA for 1 night. The room was clean but a little outdated. The staff at reception were very friendly when we checked in. There are shops and restaurants a couple of minutes walk just across the road from the hotel. The breakfast was very basic, just donuts and cakes. Overall good value for money for 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Yas and Tim,

Thank you for your recent stay at our Vagabond Inn in San Luis Obispo ca,we are happy to read the location was to your liking and that you took advantage of the great chooses restuarants and shopping within walking distance of the motel, have a great time on your remaining journey and we hope to see you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

would never stay here again.

would never recommend to friends or family to stay here.

the wind was howling and it was cold when we arrived around 11pm. the main lobby door was locked, and we had to stand outside, waiting for a guest in front of us to be checked-in through a bank-teller like window.

a ridiculous and stupid experience.

the window in the bathroom would not close, and the wind howled through it all night.

the bed sank almost to the floor when we got in.

and it felt like everything in the room was the same as when i was 8 years old visiting motels with my parents. that was several decades ago.

Room Tip: to get a good room, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear john doe ta,

Please accept our apology for your experience during your late checkin at our hotel,we would just like the opportunity to explain that very late checkins are done through our night checkin window, it is well light with a fully covered overhang porch, but we will take into consideration your concerns.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Address: 210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.