We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost, good location, few amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Low cost, good location, few amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good low cost base of operations for touring the San Luis Obispo area if you only need a place to sleep. Easy access to the 101 and Hwy 1; convenient to shopping and dining in SLO. Pool and hot tub were not working.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, General Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback for your recent stay at our hotel, we are glad to hear you found our rates reasonable and location convenient, please accept our apologies for your inconvenience for the pool and spa that was out of order due to equipment replacement and repairs .

We hope to better serve you on your next visit

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    51
    26
    22
See reviews for
40
55
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The internet wasn't working - which means that we had to go to the lobby everytime we wanted to use wifi on our laptop. Breakfast was only coffee and donuts, and it was first come first serve... if you came too late, there was nothing left. Staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a great stay here. The rooms were clean and my family and I received great customer service. The receptionist was pleasant and helped us find places to go and suggested places to eat. The location is perfect. In a safe area, not too far from downtown and it is right next door to Denny's. There are also lots of shopping right across the street. My big thing is cleanliness and it exceeded my expectations. Definitely will stay here again when I visit San Luis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

My stay at Vagabond Inn - San Luis Obispo was great! The front desk was super helpful in accommodating me with all of my requests right from the start. I stayed in a 2 bedroom which was located in the back of property for the weekend while visiting my son. My room was pretty nice - clean sheets, great pillows, and newly updated furniture. I would recommend vagabond inn for any one that is visiting SLO.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This is the great place , very convenient to the restaurant , Madonna complex is just steps away. I like Denny's which is on the property. Ihop is next to hotel. My wife loves morning breakfast and I have good choices.
Rates are very reasonable . Laura front desk is great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After 1 night at Vagabond Inn, we woke up with dozen of bedbugs bites. We told it at the reception where the guy clearly didn't take care of it. He didn't seem surprised neither motivated to solve the problem. Better choose an other hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rashmi829, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the vagabond inn in san luis obispo, please accept our apology for your recent experience and let me assure you that we have taken every step possible to address your concerns and any problem areas, in our rooms and that we have done many updates to our rooms including new carpeting and beds within last few months,and better training in housekeeping, it is our intention to maintain quality and offer the best service with clean and comfortable accommodations at affordable rates to each of our guest.

We hope to better serve you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tend to agree with other comments listed, it is a "Budget Hotel" and is just about value for money but do not expect too much. Air conditioning unit was to noisy to use, television was from the "60's" cleaning left a lot to be desired and breakfst was a joke. Try Denny's next door. pool was clean and well maintained and the location was suitable for ou needs, we extened our stay by two further days as the rates where better than downtown SLO. Just do not expect too much. check out was simple afte we found te owner who had gone missing for a while. over all not bad.

Room Tip: Try for a room downstairs as there is no eleveators and you need to haul your luggage up several fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Address: 210 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.