We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Welcoming Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Needed a hotel that takes dogs on our most recent jaunt to SLO and booked our rooms here via bringfido.com. Was pleasantly surprised! Nice rooms (just a tad outdated but so is the cute owner), big bathrooms, nice size heated pool, yummy continental breakfast, free movies, free internet and what I loved most was you can hop on the trolley just outside for only 50 cents and it's a quick ride to downtown SLO. Easy access to the highway and less than 5 minutes from Cal Poly. Will definitely stay here again when we have to bring our dogs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    39
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
71
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had a wonderful experience: very clean, excellent complimentary breakfast, friendly and accommodating stuff (many thanks Lisa, Sarah, Chris & Mike), great value, close to everything (restaurant, shopping, entertainment, beaches, etc..). Highly recommended to everybody!
Magdalena

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Sands Inn and Suites is an old run down facility. The carpet, drapes and bathroom need a desperate upgrading. The blankets on the beds were thin and old. The breakfast was disgusting. The eggs were cold and hard. The bagels were stale as well as the rest of the danish. The bananas looked like they were almost a week old.
We left after 1 night. The front desk was not very friendly or happy, but they did recommend a great restaurant...CRAWDADDY's.
We will not stay at the Sands Inn again while visiting our son at CAL Poly. Sorry

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San luis obispo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The staff are great food really good. The front desk staff took really good care of me, and the room was clean and comfortable. The pool area is great, and the room wasn't too expensive. They have a nice gym, the lobby staff is great, and they have free dvd's to watch.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The area is old, but hotels should be upgraded from time to time. The beds are new and the room is comfortable, but the carpet, drapes and bathroom could use a little help. The staff is courteous and the prices are reasonable.
The breakfast provided was much better than average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was another pit stop on our way up the coast. I am quite easy to please without all the frills, but I wished we would've paid more for one of the other hotels around the area.

It was only for one night and I'll make it quick and easy:

Pros
- affordable
- free decent breakfast
- convenient location to the freeway
- convenience for walking to downtown shops and restaurants

Cons
- jacuzzi was lukewarm (bummer)
- decor and furnishings were circa 1984
- shower pressure was lacking
- bed was too hard for us

I would only recommend as a one night stay if you want no frills and a hard bed is fine for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a trip we took along the pacific coast highway. I have to be honest we were dreading this stay but out of the 4 hotels booked this was by far the best. We were checked in by Chris who was extremely efficient and friendly. We were given a choice of rooms which we were able to park right outside. The hotel provided us with a map and excellent directions to the downtown area including where restaurants were located, the distance and closing times of the shops and restaurants. The downtown area is really lovely and is about a 20 minute walk away (approx 1 mile). The hotel itself was extremely clean, the room was of a good size with plenty of amenities (fridge, microwave, coffee maker) and breakfast was included (a really good selection). Had a great nights sleep, as the area is slightly out of town it is very quiet. If you travelling there is a gas station right next door. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.