We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Our room was spacious, clean and with good amenities, but a little dated. Free parking, pool, hot tub, DVD loan and breakfast were much appreciated. We were able to walk into downtown SLO from the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
HayI7,

Thank you for being our guest and for the nice note. It was our pleasure to host you in San Luis Obispo. Hopefully we will see you again next time you’re on the west coast.

Sincerely,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Sands Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
60
72
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night whilst making our way from Monterey to LA. The hotel was certainly very clean and tidy, our room was more than large enough for the 2 of us and our luggage. The pool and hot tub area were clean although the old exercise equipment didn't look to clever. The breakfast offered by the hotel was a welcome surprise and had plenty of variety including hotel and cold dishes.
Regards location some may consider the walk to downtown San Luis as a little far, however is easy to locate by walking/driving down Monterey Street. The Irish bar across the road from the hotel was perfect if not wanting to go into town and offered a number of food choices.
Overall I was very happy with our stay at this hotel and were certainly recommend it to other travellers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Jason P,

Thank you for being our guest and for the kind words about our cleanliness and breakfast.
I’m glad you had a chance to head across the street and check out Pappy MacGregor’s. Having it so close is very convenient, and they have some great specials on food and drinks.

You also mentioned the walk to downtown, which, while pleasant, can be a bit far for some people. Through most the summer and early fall, there’s a trolley that runs from our end of Monterey Street to the downtown area on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays for just fifty cents. Can’t beat that! Especially on Thursdays with the Farmer’s Market, which is really more of a street fair.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to California!

Warm Regards,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Sands Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I would stay here again. Rooms were very clean. What made this place special is the two men at the front desk who were very helpful and friendly. One of them referred me to the Irish Pub across the street at it was also good. All in all an excellent find. Nothing fancy just comfortable and clean. Breakfast was quite adequate as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stopped in SLO dozens of times driving from LA to SF and stayed at nearly every single motel in town! Ladies and gentlemen, we have found the indisputable winner here at the Sands: amazingly hot jacuzzi, a heated pool that is truly heated (albeit not Palm Springs-ish, but hey it's not the desert either), superb service (our refrigerator did not work so they offered us another room and when we declined, lisa in Housekeeping said they wanted to reduce our rate for the night), travel tips (Sara at the front desk alerted us to the Thursday night street fair), and centrally located (right near trolley pick-up or a fun 10- block walk to downtown). We'll stay again and you should too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Driving in I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms and bathrooms very clean. The beds comfortable and towels fluffy. The added DVD setup was so appreciated! I'm a mom traveling with 2 teen boys and they needed something to do. The rooms were small. The breakfast was a nice surprise. Good stay and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Blanca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Service was very friendly. Breakfast was very tasty. Rooms small but included recliner, good after long drive from San Francisco. DVD "rentals" great if you have kids!
AWESOME gateway to wine county. Wish we had more time to visit vineyards and breweries.

Room Tip: Rooms cozy, breakfast great. 12 miles from beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A beautiful inn with great views, pleasant decor and wonderful service. A gracious and caring staff made my stay very enjoyable. All the extra services were amazing and well worth the price. Good location in a quaint section of town. A comfortable place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.