We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some very nice touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Some very nice touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Friendly reception staff greeted us with coffee and cookies which was a very nice touch. Room very acceptable with all the facilities including free Wi-fi and coffee making, with excellent coffee. Our coffee maker did not work on arrival but this was replaced within five minutes of reporting to Reception. Handy to the freeway and in hotel / motel area about 1.5 miles from central San Luis Obispo which you could walk. Very nice pool with a lot of towels but we could not get the jacuzzi to work, we could have asked Reception. Complimentary buffet was very well received and a good choose. Enjoyed our short friendly stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid those tucked around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    60
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
45
60
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked this originally without reading reviews because pets are permitted(although we ended up leaving Fido with our neighbor). We have frequent rewards with Best Western which is directly across the street, but they don't accept pets and the staff wasn't friendly when I called about their Cal Poly package that they no longer offer even though it is still on their website. I'm glad we left the dog at home because it would have been too hot to leave her in the car during our tour of Cal Poly. When I read the A/C didn't work from an earlier review, I cancelled the reservation. The GM, Mr. Wilkins assured me that the A/C did work so we rebooked. It was a good thing because it was over 90 degrees in the middle of October. We really enjoyed our stay here - from the hot coffee and freshly baked cookies upon arrival, to the recommendation of a Pizzeria for dinner from the front staff (Woodstock) which was a fun choice since it was a Sunday and we're a football crowd. They had happy hour for all NFL games but go before 3:00 for the economical Lunch special. We enjoyed the huge selection of free DVDs and had read about this so we brought micro popcorn and cold drinks to use in the in room fridge and microwave. A good thing since the vending machine was out of order. We also enjoyed the nice pool and toasty jacuzzi. The friendly staff gave us plenty of extra towels. The beds were comfy but it would be great if they updated the bedspreads to the newer type. We brought our own pillows too since we had read the pillows were bad - but they were fine. The A/C was cool but kind of noisy when it cycled on and off during the night. Last but not least, the complimentary breakfast was just great. Waffles that you make to order, bagels, cereal (eggs were cold though) and delicious OJ and coffee. Also, they have a washer/dryer for guests use. We will definitely return here especially if our son is accepted to Cal Poly.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor of the one story building - perfect - parked right in front of our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Certainly dated, but clean. We found it quiet and comfortable. Quiet rooms are on the south and west side. Bed was better than I expected. Either it was a new mattress or one of quality. Came with self serve breakfast. Added bonus of free dvd to watch movies in your room if the weather is bad. We had to book late and were worried about the options we had left. Ended up booked at the Sands and would not hesitate again if the better hotels were booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked this last minute on Orbitz while traveling down from Hearst Castle that same day. I went to college here back in the early 80s and had not visited the area since. The hotel had some pretty good reviews on Orbitz, so I decided to choose this one. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Zach did a good job of making some dinning suggestions and was teaching the new front desk person there. The rooms were very clean, just a little dated though. When you start spending over $110/night, your expectations begin to change. I think some some inexpensive updates would help a lot . The wifi seems to be inadequate- it seems to choke in the morning when everyone gets on at the same time. They do have free use of an internet computer in the lobby though and that works fine. Overall, I think it is a good property and is in a good location. With some adjustments to the amenities, I think it could be even. better

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Original carpet, bed spreads, and even tv! The travel lodge is looking really good as I type this. The parking lot is by the majority of rooms, so be sure to ask for one upstairs! I'm am impressed that they've added a dvd player via rca cables to plug into the the tv with integrated vcr.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for one night last week, very last minute. Making a same day reservation during the summer with a dog was no easy feat, but the staff was really fantastic! The hotel was clean, but the rooms were a little cramped. The owners would benefit from some easy upgrades. The beds were not-so-comfy and had kind of icky comforters, and the lack of a/c in the rooms was a bummer. We were overly warm, as we had a first floor room and our dog was restless from hearing the activity outdoors. If I were to stay here again I'd definitely request a second floor room. But, it was perfectly adequate for a one night stay, especially for a place that allowed dogs, and the staff made it a very friendly and welcoming place. There were mini-fridges in the rooms, which would be great for an extended stay to explore the area. Breakfast was included and was fine - nothing outrageous but the bagels and waffles were good. Obviously I can't stress enough the awesomeness of the staff - they really made the stay worth it and are the highlight of this place - they even had delicious fresh baked cookies in the lobby, as well as a giant book of DVDs you could borrow for free!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if possible, or for a room overlooking the pool instead of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
amksba,

Thank you. Your comments on the service – which our staff tries so very hard to provide – make my day. As a manager, if the hotel I work for can be known for one thing, let it be service.

As far as making a last-minute reservation with a pet during the summer, I feel your pain. While more and more hotels are allowing pets, they seem to be the first rooms to go. We try to allow as many pets as we can, but only in specific rooms so as not to impact other guests with allergies or sensitivities. I’m glad we found one that worked for you.

Those easy upgrades you mentioned; many of them are already in the works (some of the not-so-easy one too), like the comforters for example. Also, with the “cramped” point, which another reviewer mentioned recently, we have a plan for that too. It’s not that our rooms are particularly small – I’d say they’re a pretty standard size – it’s that there is a perhaps a few too many pieces of furniture with the given layout. That’s why we are moving to things like wall-mounted flat screen TVs in some rooms, which will go a long way toward easing congestion. If you truly desire more space, we do have 17 suites with extra living area to really spread out and relax, and the rates are quite reasonable … plus, as you mentioned in your review tip, the suites overlook the pool with a nice view of the mountains beyond.

I’m glad you enjoyed the cookies at check-in. They are a recent addition for us, and we bake them fresh daily. I agree with you about the waffles too … in the morning the smell of them cooking wafts over to my desk from the breakfast room , reminding me that our coffee – while good – is poor substitute for eating breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit – the rooms are improving by the day, but the quality of the service will remain high.

Sincerely,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/a
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went to SLO to visit a friend for dinner and breakfast.
Nice place; would stay again; most rooms in 2-story buildings. We were on bottom floor; very little noise from top floor (even though the place appeared full). There are about 8, queen-sized rooms in single story building which you can request if you do not want someone above you (no separate sink from toilet/shower). Did not try breakfast though it looked nice. Likewise the pool (which we would have tried had we not been out so late). Quick and easy drive into downtown. A half-dozen or more other motels are in the same block.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
cj02139,

Thank you for letting your fellow travelers know that the Sands Inn & Suites is a nice place to stay when visiting San Luis Obispo.

I agree with you about the location — we are a stone’s throw from the downtown shopping district and the historic Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa, which was built in 1772. We are also just under a mile from the campus of Cal Poly.

It sounds like it was a quick trip this time around, so you were unable to take full advantage of our deluxe continental breakfast or heated swimming pool. That’s a shame, because in addition to our service, comfort and convenience, I think our breakfast and swimming pool really add a lot of value. But it does sound like me may see you again at some point, so there’s always next time!

TIP: if you can, start the weekend early and come over on Thursday evening to visit our AMAZING farmer’s market. The trolley stops right at our doorstep and costs just 50 cents for a ride down to the market. Stock up on fresh fruit, have some delicious BBQ and listen to a variety of live music. It’s the thing to do here on Thursdays, and is often the highlight of the week. One could easily roll it into a long-weekend.

Warm regards,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo
Address: 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#13 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.