We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop in SLO” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good place to stop in SLO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for one night last week, very last minute. Making a same day reservation during the summer with a dog was no easy feat, but the staff was really fantastic! The hotel was clean, but the rooms were a little cramped. The owners would benefit from some easy upgrades. The beds were not-so-comfy and had kind of icky comforters, and the lack of a/c in the rooms was a bummer. We were overly warm, as we had a first floor room and our dog was restless from hearing the activity outdoors. If I were to stay here again I'd definitely request a second floor room. But, it was perfectly adequate for a one night stay, especially for a place that allowed dogs, and the staff made it a very friendly and welcoming place. There were mini-fridges in the rooms, which would be great for an extended stay to explore the area. Breakfast was included and was fine - nothing outrageous but the bagels and waffles were good. Obviously I can't stress enough the awesomeness of the staff - they really made the stay worth it and are the highlight of this place - they even had delicious fresh baked cookies in the lobby, as well as a giant book of DVDs you could borrow for free!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if possible, or for a room overlooking the pool instead of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
amksba,

Thank you. Your comments on the service – which our staff tries so very hard to provide – make my day. As a manager, if the hotel I work for can be known for one thing, let it be service.

As far as making a last-minute reservation with a pet during the summer, I feel your pain. While more and more hotels are allowing pets, they seem to be the first rooms to go. We try to allow as many pets as we can, but only in specific rooms so as not to impact other guests with allergies or sensitivities. I’m glad we found one that worked for you.

Those easy upgrades you mentioned; many of them are already in the works (some of the not-so-easy one too), like the comforters for example. Also, with the “cramped” point, which another reviewer mentioned recently, we have a plan for that too. It’s not that our rooms are particularly small – I’d say they’re a pretty standard size – it’s that there is a perhaps a few too many pieces of furniture with the given layout. That’s why we are moving to things like wall-mounted flat screen TVs in some rooms, which will go a long way toward easing congestion. If you truly desire more space, we do have 17 suites with extra living area to really spread out and relax, and the rates are quite reasonable … plus, as you mentioned in your review tip, the suites overlook the pool with a nice view of the mountains beyond.

I’m glad you enjoyed the cookies at check-in. They are a recent addition for us, and we bake them fresh daily. I agree with you about the waffles too … in the morning the smell of them cooking wafts over to my desk from the breakfast room , reminding me that our coffee – while good – is poor substitute for eating breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit – the rooms are improving by the day, but the quality of the service will remain high.

Sincerely,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    65
    36
    15
    16
See reviews for
55
66
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n/a
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went to SLO to visit a friend for dinner and breakfast.
Nice place; would stay again; most rooms in 2-story buildings. We were on bottom floor; very little noise from top floor (even though the place appeared full). There are about 8, queen-sized rooms in single story building which you can request if you do not want someone above you (no separate sink from toilet/shower). Did not try breakfast though it looked nice. Likewise the pool (which we would have tried had we not been out so late). Quick and easy drive into downtown. A half-dozen or more other motels are in the same block.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
cj02139,

Thank you for letting your fellow travelers know that the Sands Inn & Suites is a nice place to stay when visiting San Luis Obispo.

I agree with you about the location — we are a stone’s throw from the downtown shopping district and the historic Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa, which was built in 1772. We are also just under a mile from the campus of Cal Poly.

It sounds like it was a quick trip this time around, so you were unable to take full advantage of our deluxe continental breakfast or heated swimming pool. That’s a shame, because in addition to our service, comfort and convenience, I think our breakfast and swimming pool really add a lot of value. But it does sound like me may see you again at some point, so there’s always next time!

TIP: if you can, start the weekend early and come over on Thursday evening to visit our AMAZING farmer’s market. The trolley stops right at our doorstep and costs just 50 cents for a ride down to the market. Stock up on fresh fruit, have some delicious BBQ and listen to a variety of live music. It’s the thing to do here on Thursdays, and is often the highlight of the week. One could easily roll it into a long-weekend.

Warm regards,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

With two boys, two dogs, my husband and myself we reserved a one room suite. It was a nice clean suite with plenty of room. Great value & great location. They have a selection of movies you can check out of the office and offer a (better than most) breakfast. The staff was very accomodating. We will most likely stay again on our next trip to SLO.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 250. From the sitting area you have a beautiful room of the two peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Carrie85259,

Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeepers take pride in their work, and they will be delighted to know that their efforts were recognized. We also appreciate your comments about our breakfast, service and value.

With two dogs, two boys and a husband, you must have your hands full. I’m glad you found one of our Pet-Friendly suites to be a good fit for your clan to spread out and get some rest.

The two peaks you mention that you were able to view from your room are Bishop Peak (1,559 feet) and Madonna Mountain (1,292 feet). Both peaks have excellent hiking. In addition, Madonna has equestrian and mountain-biking trails, while Bishop has excellent rock-climbing routes. The peaks are a part of the “Nine Sisters” chain that stretches from San Luis west into in the sea. They are known as “Morros,” which are actually ancient dormant (thankfully!) volcanoes. One of my favorite things to do is watch the sunset from the top of Bishop, especially when the full moon is rising. You can see all the way to Pismo Beach, and even Morro Rock in Morro Bay. Check it out some time.

Hope to see you and your family at The Sands Inn & Suites again soon!

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Room and bed were Clean and odor-free. The staff was easygoing and hospitable. The breakfast was the best on our trip, well-stocked with waffles and fresh fruit. High speed internet, fridge, micro included and they did not try to upcharge for any services. Note that it is a motel with the flavor of an Inn, for example a cozy living room in the lobby. They also have 24 hours a day coffee and a free computer station with Internet in lobby. Once we got over the hokey country furnishings we really felt very comfortable at this place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Staff let us pick from the available rooms, which we really appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
the_elms,

Thank you so much for your kinds words about our property. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went.

You seem like an astute traveler, and I think you described our property fairly. I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We think it’s a great value, and we are proud of the options that we provide. Nonetheless, we are looking at ways to expand and improve our offerings – something to look forward to on your next trip to the west coast and visit to the Sands.

I know the winters are pretty mild in Virginia, but if it does get too chilly in January or February, mild-mannered San Luis Obispo will be right here waiting. You do however have those lovely fall colors, of which we are jealous.

Cheers!

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The staff was nice, but the facility needs updating. The walkway to our second floor room was dark and had lumpy, damp outdoor carpeting. Room was serviceable, but cramped. Several hotels nearby looked in much better condition, and I will stay at one of them or the Madonna Inn next time I'm in SLO.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
llc-mycroft,

Thank you — both for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We truly value the feedback and appreciate the nice comment about our staff.

We are looking at some of the furniture arrangements in the rooms to see what can be done to alleviate any congestion and improve flow. Replacing the outdoor carpeting you mentioned is among the many updates we have scheduled for this fall.

As far as the overall condition of our property in relation to some of our neighbors, I am confident that in the coming months we will improve dramatically. I base this statement on a commitment by ownership, new management and a caring staff. I encourage you to allow us the opportunity to earn you back as a guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Matthew F. Wilkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I called the night before a holiday weekend and they had a cancellation and room for us. Guys at the front desk were very nice on the phone and in person. Room was a great size for us. Breakfast was tasty. It was too cold out for the pool, but we did get in the jacuzzi at 8am... good times. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

room / not to my likening/ old and out dated / in furniture and paint colors/ bed good ,TV old/,bath tub and shower average/ location good /swimming pool very nice but beware not
heated /breakfast set up fair that home run appeal really not there,also hot tub to small , grounds very nice , but place getting old , in general the place needs some updating , also machines in
rooms making a little to much noise.

Room Tip: higher floors and away from machines and stairways
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1930 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;