We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very clean rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night while travelling from Death Valley to San Francisco. Rooms are new, all amenties are working perfectly. Staff was helpful and friendly. The parking was filled at about 80% with cars, so consider to book this place in advance. Wi-Fi speed was not blazing at all but we found the whole place perfect for a short stay!

Room Tip: Don't forget a free coffee at reception desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    34
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
27
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night in June whilst travelling from San Francisco to Grand Canyon. Only expecting a very basic place to put the head down for the night. Was pleasantly surprised athat the Motel was actually very adequate. Very basic furnishings but clean and tidy and all we wanted. Reception were very pleasant. We weren't aware of any restaurants close by so we went by car into town which was not far and pleanty of choice there. Overall the Motel was cheap and it did all we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Make sure you choose the 'south' Motel 6, as it's much newer (by about 40 years!) than the North one (which is at the same freeway exit).

Beds are kind of hard, room is Spartan, but you should expect that. Staff has been nice the four different times we've been there. Nice disabled rooms that you can park in front of.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Advertisement says new. It is pretty old with much renovation. Room was clean which is good first impression.
Now, where do I start? I am always positive but this was dreadful. Fire sprinkler in bathroom paired over. Only one like that in our room but bet there are others. We were in a nonsmoking room and section. Cigarette smoke came in through bathroom fan all night. Heavy. Had to come from other rooms.
Also largest number of smokers in parking I have ever seen. Large holes in outside hall ceiling.
Very noisy all night and worse at 2:30 am.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

A Motel 6 far above average with very nice and helpful staff who also went off their way to recommend local restaurants. The pool area surrounded with trees was a very pleasant surprise. Although it is located right by the Freeway, you can ask for quiet rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a nice Motel 6. We thought the noise from the freeway would bother us, but it didn't. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. As with all Motel 6 - you need to pay $2.99/ night for internt access. We would stay at this one again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect staying at a Motel 6 but I was pleasantly surprised! The only thing I find different than an expensive hotel I usually pay for is, there aren't any pictures on the wall, no radio or kleenex. But if you have a roll of TP and a good cell phone...you're good! Really clean and peaceful place to stay. I'm staying here for a week and I'm paying $445 with tax and all. Great deal!

Room Tip: My room faced the pool and I was upstairs, I was happy. Oh, please note, there aren't any eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#15 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#26 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Park...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#23 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Best Value, Fre...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Sunbeam Motel
Sunbeam Motel
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Address: 1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel Six
San Luis Obispo Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.