We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect staying at a Motel 6 but I was pleasantly surprised! The only thing I find different than an expensive hotel I usually pay for is, there aren't any pictures on the wall, no radio or kleenex. But if you have a roll of TP and a good cell phone...you're good! Really clean and peaceful place to stay. I'm staying here for a week and I'm paying $445 with tax and all. Great deal!

Room Tip: My room faced the pool and I was upstairs, I was happy. Oh, please note, there aren't any eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    47
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
26
35
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We are regular M6 travelers (as we'd rather spend our $ on great wine and food). I'd put this one in the top group for sure. (not the best, but among the better ones) Came for Memorial Day wknd, $85/nite. Obviously, newly renovated, clean, fresh, comfy bed, good TV, etc. Has surprisingly nice grounds and a good pool. Friendly, easy check-in/out. Plenty of easy parking. On the same named street as the cheaper/less desirable (as of this writing) M6. In an cul de sac-like area with 4 motels, not exactly in downtown....... I just wish they'd offer free wi-fi.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Neals, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Spent one night here visiting my son at Cal Poly. Hotel is easy to find, not too far from town, and it was clean. Beds fairly comfortable but blanked and bedspread sub-par... Not bad for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

When you travel with a dog your options are limited. We use Motel ^ becasue they are always pet friendly. San Luis Obisbo South looks better on the outside than in the room. It was not refurbished as advertized on the sign out front, had a newer sink and tub but the blankets, spreads, matresses, carpet, and furniture are old. No minifridge or microwave. But the worst is that it has a door to an adjoining room. You can hear every word they say - we might as well be in the same room. If you are heading north, you get twice the room for the same amount at Motel 6, Gilroy.

Room Tip: Avoid adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here while passing through SLO for one night, on our way to Big Sur. We wanted to stay somewhere cheap, saving our vacation funds for other experiences. We feel like we lucked out with this Motel 6. The hotel was just fine. Our room was clean and functional. The property was nicely landscaped, and included a decent pool, which we would have indulged in, weather permitting. The location was an easy drive to SLO's downtown, and also to the Madonna Inn. The front office clerk was very friendly and helpful. The only "weird" think about our stay? Someone had "tagged" my bedspread. Literally, there was a black sharpie tag, about a food across, at the foot of the bed. The bedspread was pretty brightly patterned, so I think the maid just didn't notice it when she made up the bed. No harm, but funny. This is a basic hotel, but I would gladly stay here again, and would recommend it for someone looking for a cheap stay in SLO.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter, which the clerk helpfully told us when assigning us a room. We have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Staying here for the last several years while daughter attended Cal Poly. Rooms were recently refurbished but have slowly watched the property slide a little, peeling wallpaper, stains in tub etc. Still a good value for the area, just don't expect much, just the basics. We bring our own towels, hairdryer etc.They have also had a bit of a turnover on staff, but are still helpful and friendly. Unfortunately Motel 6 attracts a different crowd and this one is no exception. However we still have found the rooms to be clean, free coffee in the lobby in the morning and the location is perfect. This hotel accepts dogs which was a great advantage for us.The pool area has always been clean and inviting, though not heated. We will miss this area as our daughter has graduated and moved on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our son has attended Cal Poly for the last few years, and we've stayed many times at this Motel 6. We can always expect a clean quiet room. Best deal in town if you don't mind no frills.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Address: 1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel 6
San Luis Obispo Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.