We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for an adjoining room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Watch out for an adjoining room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

When you travel with a dog your options are limited. We use Motel ^ becasue they are always pet friendly. San Luis Obisbo South looks better on the outside than in the room. It was not refurbished as advertized on the sign out front, had a newer sink and tub but the blankets, spreads, matresses, carpet, and furniture are old. No minifridge or microwave. But the worst is that it has a door to an adjoining room. You can hear every word they say - we might as well be in the same room. If you are heading north, you get twice the room for the same amount at Motel 6, Gilroy.

Room Tip: Avoid adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    41
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
23
32
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here while passing through SLO for one night, on our way to Big Sur. We wanted to stay somewhere cheap, saving our vacation funds for other experiences. We feel like we lucked out with this Motel 6. The hotel was just fine. Our room was clean and functional. The property was nicely landscaped, and included a decent pool, which we would have indulged in, weather permitting. The location was an easy drive to SLO's downtown, and also to the Madonna Inn. The front office clerk was very friendly and helpful. The only "weird" think about our stay? Someone had "tagged" my bedspread. Literally, there was a black sharpie tag, about a food across, at the foot of the bed. The bedspread was pretty brightly patterned, so I think the maid just didn't notice it when she made up the bed. No harm, but funny. This is a basic hotel, but I would gladly stay here again, and would recommend it for someone looking for a cheap stay in SLO.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter, which the clerk helpfully told us when assigning us a room. We have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Staying here for the last several years while daughter attended Cal Poly. Rooms were recently refurbished but have slowly watched the property slide a little, peeling wallpaper, stains in tub etc. Still a good value for the area, just don't expect much, just the basics. We bring our own towels, hairdryer etc.They have also had a bit of a turnover on staff, but are still helpful and friendly. Unfortunately Motel 6 attracts a different crowd and this one is no exception. However we still have found the rooms to be clean, free coffee in the lobby in the morning and the location is perfect. This hotel accepts dogs which was a great advantage for us.The pool area has always been clean and inviting, though not heated. We will miss this area as our daughter has graduated and moved on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our son has attended Cal Poly for the last few years, and we've stayed many times at this Motel 6. We can always expect a clean quiet room. Best deal in town if you don't mind no frills.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had been to M6 SLO on a previous occasion and found it convenient for our purposes.
Single greatest advantage for us - accepts dogs (as do all Motel 6)
Finding it isn't exactly simple as our GPS took us off the 101 just one junction north of the correct one - 200A not 200B.
When that gets sorted however the staff (Tom) was efficient and a little bit of searching around finds a range of shops and stores within a mile or so including Starbucks, Food-for-less, Trader Joe's, a Costco and for thirsty travelers a Bev-Mo.
Rooms are standard M6 and in generally good condition. There is plentiful parking.

There was no discernible noise from adjacent rooms and as in all M6 rooms the TV is basic and the channels are all screwed up.

Recommended if you are on a budget and can get by without loads of expensive luxuries like hotel shampoo! BYO.

Room Tip: 108/109 are close to parking and on the end of a walkway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We arrived tired and hadn't booked anywhere in SLO, so I think we lucked out on this motel. The check in staff were helpful and let us view the room before we confirmed we were going to stay. We were given a courtyard room overlooking the pool, so had no road noise. The remodelled room was very clean, no mould in the shower and the toilet was spotless. The beds were comfortable. I heard the faint noise of the TV from the next room during the night, but it did not wake the rest of my family. We paid for internet access which was worthwhile and quick. We would stay againin this Motel 6.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I am a budget traveler to the core and have no desire to pay outrageous prices for a good night's sleep. I am looking for a simple, clean, comfortable room with basic facilities and a good bed, and that is what I got at this motel. Excpet for a somewhat musty odor, everything was great. The bed had a good firm mattress, the bathroom was spotless and the shower was perfect. There was plenty of room for my things, sufficient counter space, a small square work table and two chairs. The lighting was very adequate.The TV was satisfactory, but I really just used it to watch the 11PM news. They have wi-fi for $3.00 extra. There is a large heater/AC unit that worked well. The two evening clerks were very friendly and accommodating. Judging by what I expect in a basic highway motel, I recommend it. I asked for a quiet room and they put me in one that was on a pathway to the central courtyard which surrounds a small pool. I therefore was not in a position to be disturbed by any noise that might be going on in one of the rooms facing the courtyard. The motel is right off the highway, so you do hear the traffic to some extent, even with the windows closed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Address: 1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel Six
San Luis Obispo Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.