We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1433 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
1,400 helpful votes 1,400 helpful votes
“clean, helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

we spent only one night here but we found this place quite clean. staff was very helpful and it helped us finding the right indications to keep on our journey. not far from the city canter. we recomend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
8
11
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This motel is cheap because this is only meant to be a place where you crash after a day of wine tasting. The rooms were clean and the service was great. the walls are thin so it was a noisy at night past the 10pm quiet time. my guests and I had a very pleasant stay here. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After reading here, I had my doubts, but the place turned out to be great. Everyone I encountered was very helpful. Motel 6 doesn't offer a lot of things other chains do (like shampoo, coffee in room, etc.) but they did a great job nonetheless. Price was lower than anywhere else and the say was very enjoyable. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I like upstairs because no one walks on your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a place to stay if you are on a budget and only want the essentials. The rooms are small and utilitarian. Ours had an ancient tv and that was it. There is no refrigerator or any kind of coffee amenity. There was no guest shampoos or conditioners. There was a bed and a shower. Like being at a nice camp. But, the place was clean and we slept well. even with the highway directly across the access road. The pool looked a little suspect. College kid at the front desk was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It's a horrible place to stay. We are on the 2nd floor and next to the motel is a auto dealership. There are men staring at us thru our window. The staff are rude when we ask for more pillows, front desk person said that I am pushing it . I paid $120 for this stupid motel...Never again will I ever stay here AGAIN!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Use this place as a last resort. I'd like to give it 1.5 stars, but alas. If no other place was available, I would stay here again but would try very hard not to. If you have to stay here, try to have as little interaction as possible with the front desk, and book online to avoid these peoples' dishones tactics.

Pros - Clean, nice bathroom.

Cons - Management terrible, lied about rates, rude to members of my family looking for ice and microwave. Rooms small. Beds cheap, but not terrible. No mircowave or frige in room. One of our rooms smelled like cig smoke even though we were in non-smoking. I think it was coming from below but could never figure it out. Road noise pretty high but not so bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WAYNE
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

You get what you pay for. Quick overnight in SLO for a conference with trying to keep costs low. Initially tried to charge me double the reservation quote. Manager argued with me about the reservation, giving me a break on their price, yet still $20 above the quote.
Noisy area with lots of coming & goings of less than desirable looking patrons. Bag stolen out of my car as I was packing to leave. Take the 8 minute drive to the 5 cities area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
#26 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#20 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Sunbeam Motel
Sunbeam Motel
#17 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Family rooms, F...
Show More
2.9 mi away
El Toro Motel
El Toro Motel
#21 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North

Address: 1433 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel Six
San Luis Obispo Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.