We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect it to be and more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Save Saved
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Escondido, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect it to be and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you've ever driven past the Madonna Inn and thought "One day I'll stay in that crazy place" then you definitely should! It is just how you would imagine and more. We stayed in the "regular" rooms (Pioneer for us and Swiss Chalet for my parents) and were amazed by the size. Couches, big, comfortable beds, even a little office type area. Very comfortable all around; they even provided a few free bottles of water - nice touch. Clean and the toiletries from their spa were really nice. The pool area was really pretty. The hiking trails were great, we wished we had time to explore them more. The coffee shop restaurant wasn't great. My soup was luke warm at best and the staff wasn't as attentive as I thought they should be for the price we were paying. They make their own Blue Cheese and 1000 Island salad dressing and you could tell - delicious! The biggest drawback was that check-in is at 4 and check out at 11. We only stayed one night and one of our rooms wasn't ready until 3:30! That really didn't give us a lot of time to enjoy the hotel and feel like we got our money's worth. We wouldn't stay here again for an overnight, but if we had a couple of days, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments! We guarantee that our rooms are ready to go by 4pm but we will always try to check out guests in sooner if the room is ready. Our daily check out time is actually 12 noon, so next time please stay and relax for an extra hour! Your comments regarding the service in the Copper Cafe has been passed along to the restaurant manager. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    300
    118
    51
    42
See reviews for
210
420
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My sister and I took a road trip down the California coast and a friend of hers said her dream was to go to the Madonna Inn. We looked it up and it sounded like fun, so we booked a room, although it was one of the last rooms available and not cheap.

We thought it might be a fun, kitchy type of experience to stay here. But we felt like we were in run-down over-the-top Las Vegas of the 70s. They just never knew when to stop decorating although it had to be several decades ago due to the general run-down condition.

We ate dinner in the restaurant that was sort of a European castle theme, but another place was all pink plastic decor. The service was slow and the food was okay, but not great. Overpriced for sure.

We only stayed overnight (thank goodness), so we didn't try the pool, but it was up a hill and out of the way. A good hike from most rooms. There was a beautiful horse pasture and riding arena, but unfortunately we don't ride (but that looked enticing nonetheless).

Disappointing overall.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so I can't recommend any one room. It was fun to look at the postc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I loved this place. The pool alone with magnificent views of the mountains was out of this world! Our room "Showboat" was big enough for our family of 4 (Two singles and one King). A terrific price instead of two separate rooms for our older children. Clean, comfortable and roomy, very nice! Horses in the field, hiking trails around, beautiful flowers and pond. Excellent place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A wonderful/ fantastic hotel and restaurant if you what to see something extra. Although the food is a little expensive is it great. But what makes the hotel and restaurant so incredibly special is the interior. With a theme somewhere between Moulin Rouge and m and super kitsch style. A real pearl you have to visit if you are nearby. It is as much worth seeing as the famous Hearst Castle.
Rooms are decorated in different themes, now your able to sleep in your real dream!

The hotel has a gym, tennis and basketball courts. You are also able to enjoy horse-riding, hiking and biking here. Madonna Inn's spa offers massages and beauty treatments - nice!

Our whole family loved the place!

Room Tip: Ask for a list of all rooms. They all have completely different themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your shining review of Madonna Inn and we are happy to hear that your family enjoyed your time here and the amenities we had to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had high expectations of 'The Madonna' and were not disappointed. Our room was simply amazing, with good amenities, and we had the most amazing nights sleep there, really comfortable and quiet. The pool and hot tub area really first rate but the highlight for us was the bar and resturant areas. One really got a feel for how this would have been in the late 50s, when it opened, and the 60s. The food was amazing and the service first rate. A truly magical place and such a refreshing change from 'normal' hotels. A real 'must', for the experience alone!

Room Tip: Indulge yourself......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves on the service and the unique experience that we can offer here at Madonna Inn. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We paid the same for our theme room as I did at the 4 Seasons Beijing in 2012 (which might be higher now.) Basically you are paying hotel prices for an offbeat experience, which has a few taxes and a "resort" fee thrown in. The room was fun for my 11 yr. old granddaughter,but they have an antiquated floor cooler and heater that makes too much noise to leave on for the night. The staff were efficient, the room clean, and the shower fine. The pool area was fun with two Jacuzzis and a large pool. The spa looked nice but again too expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is no Ritz and the place is expensive but it is extremely unique and more of an experience than a luxury stay.
The pool was amazing and we stayed here for a friend's birthday party while staying in SLO. Definitely an easy place to bring girls back to!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.