We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensively fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expensively fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We paid the same for our theme room as I did at the 4 Seasons Beijing in 2012 (which might be higher now.) Basically you are paying hotel prices for an offbeat experience, which has a few taxes and a "resort" fee thrown in. The room was fun for my 11 yr. old granddaughter,but they have an antiquated floor cooler and heater that makes too much noise to leave on for the night. The staff were efficient, the room clean, and the shower fine. The pool area was fun with two Jacuzzis and a large pool. The spa looked nice but again too expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    360
    140
    56
    49
See reviews for
252
501
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is no Ritz and the place is expensive but it is extremely unique and more of an experience than a luxury stay.
The pool was amazing and we stayed here for a friend's birthday party while staying in SLO. Definitely an easy place to bring girls back to!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved it! The Food in the restaurant was great and the PINK CAKE was heaven! Our room was clean and very comfy, front desk staff was great! we will come again. We recommend this Inn to anyone who loves something different.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Thought this would be kitschy and fun. But this a motel- with old musty carpets, comforters which look like they haven't been cleaned since the brady bunch, and a weird circus to boot.

We ran away about 10 minutes after seeing our room- everyone was too grossed out.

We went to a clean, comfortable hampton inn 5 minutes away, at a much lower price.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are family of four, traveling with two older teens. we were traveling up the coast for college visits, from LA to SF. I made it a point to stop at madonna inn. I had stayed there as a child in the late 1970s, and I was curious to see if my amazing memories stood the test of time! I would say YES! this last visit was fabulous. we stayed two nights -- had planned on one night, but added a second night and so glad we did. we stayed in the Sky Room (same room I had stayed in 30 plus years ago). first, pool area amazing and relaxing. we had a good day of rest at the pool, resting up from the college tours! lovely setting! the room decor of sky room is about the same, so expect kitchy old school fun -- but the bathroom very modernized, spa shower, bidet/heated commode seat/lots of upgrades in the room. my teens had the entire upstairs loft area, two separate beds, a ton of space in the loft! this place is just ... well... cool and fun! food in the restaurant very so-so but ambiance fun (think disneyworld, esp fantasy land) and staff very friendly. we ate two breakfasts, and one late dinner...rest of the time ate in town which I'd recommend. downtown SLO is so close, you can easily walk it, but we rented the pink bikes for fun. the first night we arrived late, we poked our head in lounge area, which literally had a lounge singer (think bill murray SNL), again, all of which was fun to see. everyone seems in a good mood at madonna inn -- kind of hard not to be. what I really liked -- my teens, ages 14 and 17, seemed to think it was as cool as I did when I was a kid -- so this place still has it!

Room Tip: Sky room has a lot of space in the loft area for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for coming back after 30 years and bringing your family. We are pleased to hear that your sons enjoyed it as much as you did! The positive comments are appreciated, as is your business. Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We go out of our way to stay here while traveling. This place is so fun - great pool/spa. The pool bartender was new and just learning drinks - so these were a but suspect. This time we went horseback riding, which was wonderful. From the top of the mountain, there are views of the massive Madonna property. We stayed in the Safari room and the Jungle Rock room. The mattresses need an upgrade, but the decor was typical Madonna Inn kitsch. Both rooms had a rock waterfall shower - super fun. It was our anniversary, so the Inn sent a bottle of champagne to our room. We had dinner at the steakhouse, and they gifted us a giant slice of black forest cake. Love this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came for a family reunion and that was Great! The reason we stayed here was we heard so many people say the rooms are all different & unique??? When you fill out the questionnaire when you register don't mark yes you are handicapped because it will not matter!My husband has a hard time walking so they gave us a room with rocks all over the walls and the FLOOR!!! The bathroom is small, no counter space, & the faucets leaked all over the counters! It was not beautifully decorated, very plain, it must have been for Flintstones! No parking in front of our room or anywhere at 9 pm except in front by front desk, they had to drive us back to our room because it was too far to walk up hill. When we checked out we told the clerk we were not happy & would never come back! We told her about the room and she says you could of went on line and looked at the rooms but we didn't know that and we did not book online! Why did they not ask us when we registered????

Room Tip: Ask if you can see pictures of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with your stay. Even though you did not book online, we offer photos of all of our rooms on our website so that way our guests can choose their room prior to booking. We are a unique hotel property and we try to offer as many options as possible so that you can choose a room that is best suited for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.