We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you've heard is true” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Everything you've heard is true”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place really is like something out of a Salvador Dali dream. It's equally glamorous and plush as well as weird and wonderful. The rooms are all different (as you know) but they're comfortable enough too with perhaps the best toilets I've ever used (I won't ruin the surprise). A perfect stop off for roast trippers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    323
    122
    53
    44
See reviews for
218
448
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a wonderful long weekend in SLO. Disappointed we only got to spend one night at this great location, but made the most of the infinity pool and two hot tubs. What a contrast effect from the place we stayed the night before! Would definitely recommend the steakhouse as well.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

PROS:
-sleeps 7 comfortably, which is great if you have a large family or group of friends
-mini fridge
-large living room area with plenty of sitting room for 7 people
-safe
-fire place
-check out at noon
-room seemed pretty clean considering how old everything is


CONS:
-check in is not until 4. Staff was not able to check us in "early"
-room decor
-a 3 bedroom suite should have 3 bathrooms, too!
-the ice machine in at our building was broken
-no microwave
-only the living room and master bedroom had a tv
-curtains fell down from the window

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We visited the Madonna inn on our one night stop in San Luis Obisbo.

The hotel is super unique- each room was different. We stayed in the Cabin Still room which had a rock floor and funky copper sink.

The pool was nice, but drinks were pretty pricy. We opted to drive downtown for dinner (it was about 8 minutes) which I would recommend because it's a super cute town.

While the room was unique, the bed was way to soft and very creaky. We were fine for one night, but if you are staying for longer I would find somewhere else.

beware- there is a $15 daily resort fee on top of your room stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

How on earth do you describe the Madonna Inn? Kitsch, cool, funky, fun and so full of character that it's not for the timid traveler. We stayed in the "Barrels of Fun" room and found it delightful. The rock shower was both exhilarating and a little scary (if you slip and fall, I'm certain a massive head injury would result) and the sparkly wallpaper made me laugh. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the experience was miles away from the ordinary. The dining room was an explosion of pink and dinner was wonderful. The pool area was amazing and the waterfall was lovely. The service was great from the staff and they seem to understand that they have a unique gem on their hands and act accordingly. If you want normal: this is NOT the place for you. If you want to stay somewhere that will be remembered and a fun, cherished memory: stay at the Madonna. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Barrel of Fun room and the overall experience here at Madonna Inn. We appreciate your positive review and thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

So no one really prepared me for what I was walking into with this hotel. More specifically- I don't think I've ever seen so much pink in my lifetime in one place. Even the cake is pink. The napkins are pink. The decor is...you get the idea.

I asked for the most normal room and got the swiss chalet. I basically didn't sleep because the lamp had a statue of a gargoyle that stared at me all night.

However, if you can get past all that, the people there are nice. They have a shuttle to the local airport (some dude with a beard). The view from the spa and pool are breathtaking. And you are guaranteed to meet a character (or 2) that you will never forget.

Room Tip: I can not prepare you for this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Madonna Inn for one night in May during our two day drive down Highway 1, and this was our second time staying here - the first being four years ago while on our honeymoon. I loved it four years ago, and if possible I loved it even more this second time - yes it's kitsch and OTT and maybe a little pricey, but it is also FABULOUS and such an experience. We stayed in Carin this time (room 218), and it was without a doubt the pinkest room I have ever been in: pink bed spreads, deep pink carpets, pink bathroom, pink sequins on the walls….. pink everywhere. There were cherubs hanging from the ceiling and plenty of ridiculously ornate mirrors hanging on the walls. Decor aside, it was also a very well situated room: right at the far end of the building, and also on the top floor in its own little tower or turret - so no noise from either the sides or above (Note: last time we stayed in Cabin Still, a ground floor rock room. Great room but incredible amounts of noise from people clomping up and down the stairs and walking above…. so rooms on the top floors are probably good if you are allergic to noise like I am!).

Room 218 also has two balconies, with lovely views out over the highway and the hills. The only potential con to this room is that it can get quite hot with all windows/doors closed, and the air conditioning doesn't fully cope with a Californian heat wave, however we simply kept the balcony doors open (there are bug guards, so fine at night too) and it was wonderfully cool; we slept very well. The toiletries supplied are very nice, and the shower was maybe the best one we'd had of the whole two week vacation: good temperature control and excellent water pressure. The wifi is free and works well; we didn't really watch TV so no comment on that, and we didn't stay for breakfast so no comment there either (although I can say that it is not included in the standard room rate). Other things supplied in the room included an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, ice bucket (no mini bar or fridge), robes, and pool towels (we didn't use the pool this time, but from the last visit I recall it was great - we enjoyed sitting in the hot tub, looking out over San Luis Obispo). Parking is outside, and it is usually possible to get a spot very close to your room. I would also recommend a visit to the Gold Rush steak house on site - another incredible experience all on its own!

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the top floors if you are concerned about noise from above; we were in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your return visit and your wonderfully positive review on our establishment! We have two other rooms that sound like they might be good choices for you also called Love Nest and Just Heaven that are also on the top floor and feature small staircases that provide you with lookout views of the property and surrounding areas. We appreciate your business and hope to you again in the future for another amazing OTT visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.