We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's Left Room...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Carlsbad
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What's Left Room...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very kitchsey patched together room that hurts the eyes initially but works well! We had a very pleasant stay for one night on a road trip. Drinks by the pool, dinner in the restaurant and a hearty breakfast in the coffee shop were all very good with excellent service. The staff at the Madonna Inn are all very warm and inviting and yet efficient. From the shuttle pick up at the train station through check out we were greeted and treated very happily! This is a place you must stay at least once!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    323
    122
    53
    44
See reviews for
218
449
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was recommended to me us by a chum, when we were planning a motorcycle trip down the PCH from San Fran to LA. It really is one of those 'only in America' type hotels and if you're from Europe and visiting this area, I'd recommend it. The rooms each have their own unique theme, being lavishly constructed specifically for that particular theme. We stayed in one of the 'Rock' rooms, which resemble a cave, complete with a rock basin and shower that is like a waterfall coming out of the mountain.

Service is typical America, menu good but the dining room is what you might imagine Liberace's house to look like. Lots of pink, candelabras and ostentatious gaudiness - but it's fun and it works :-)

Room Tip: This is right on the noisy 101, so ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while travelling up through California last year. We knew what to expect as I had read about this hotel on multiple site. And it was everything I expected. Rooms where so much fun, water fall shower and etc! The staff were very very friendly and helpful with all aspects. I asked for a fridge and they brought it over immediately and hassle free. I would definitely return to try a new room. Must stay here at least once in your life!

Room Tip: Make sure you research the rooms before booking so you know what to ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I wasn't sure about staying here but it is definitely worth a visit. I was mainly worried about cleanliness but I was wrong. The place is extremely clean. From reception (special mention to Cynthia) to the bar, going through the dance hall with live music, the swimming pool and the pink basketball court, everything feels cinematic and weird - good weird that is. And most importantly, once again: clean, tidy and well looked after. It will be nothing like you've done before. And http is rare these days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for writing this review and providing special mention to one of our employees, we made sure to recognize her for the effort. We appreciate both your comments and your business, hopefully we can see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was quite possibly the highlight of our 25 day trip in the US. The Madonna Inn is a cross between the Moulin Rogue, The Great Gatsby and Disneyland. I love the attention to detailed and the service. This place is totally nuts kitsch cool and we would go back in a heartbeat. Oh and the pool is superb for kids.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Madonna Inn is an institution - yes it's outlandish and a little tacky, but you've got to see it as it really is a feast for the eyes! My partner and I spent one night in the Caveman room. The decor was really fun and we loved the waterfall shower. The bed was comfy although in truth all the rocks meant the room was quite humid and hot - a bit like sleeping in an actual cave, so not to be recommended if you're claustrophobic. In terms of the rest of the facilities, the pool area is really nice and it's enjoyable to relax with a cocktail as the sun goes down. The restaurant is great fun to see, and the food is very tasty (although the portions are way too big). Just don't get sucked into all the overpriced gift shops and Madonna Inn souvenirs and you'll have a trip to remember!

Room Tip: Spend some time picking your room carefully as each one is bespoke and some seem to be much more int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We did not actually stay here but we did stop by to check it out, the hotel is bizarre and the restrooms are definitely something to see, the area is very pretty and it's right off the freeway, glad we saw it

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.