We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is indeed a one of a kind hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“this is indeed a one of a kind hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

unbelievable experience at the Madonna Inn. So many rooms to choose from, head goes round when there are about a hundred of them. And its not like you are choosing between queen or king? like in most hotels in North America.. this place gives u a much more difficult choice- you can choose from different colors, themes, different eras (all the way from caveman) it's a beautiful property in and out, the bakery, the café, restaurant and the lounge - all serve amazing food...try their milkshakes... my favourite room is Vous...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    324
    122
    53
    44
See reviews for
218
449
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Rooms smell (we had 3, they all had a musky smell)
All the floors were dirty, and I mean filthy.
Service was just dreadful.
Food ridiculously overpriced
This is just a standard motel that attracts its guests by having individual quirky rooms and charges a fortune for the experience. Don't fall for it, stay in a normal motel and save yourself $100's.

The gardens and outside areas are kept immaculately, if only they did the same with the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved the hotel, loved the pool, really chilled out place.
Booked the Harvard Square room as a treat on our holiday.
HUGE room on 3 floors, lovely comfy beds the reason it doesn't get 5 stars..... The pipes in the room clanked constantly from 630am Sunday morning waking us early.... Such a same as the ret of experience was great, just as advertised!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only stayed one night in the Madonna on our trip up the coast, but it was a very nice stay. Much better than the smaller chain hotels and one of the only ones in the area that had enough room for our family of 5. We had stayed in Spring Flowers which was a larger room with 2 king beds separated into to areas so we didn't feel like we were on top of each other like in other rooms. The bathroom was huge and separated into two areas with the heated toilet in one room and sinks for teeth brushing in another. The kids loved the uniqueness of the hotel and the room and loved looking at the book in the restaurant that showed the other rooms. We were even able to peek into one of the stone rooms so they could see those too. They also liked finding the dinosaur bone in the fireplace between the two restaurants.

The pool was wonderful and warm enough and open late enough to swim in on the cool evening when we arrived. It is also set away from the other rooms so as to not be disruptive at night and the adults had nice big robes to wear to the pool. We had dinner in the cafe since the steakhouse prices were crazy for a family. Dinner choices were great and the food was good although the service was a little scattered and slow.

One odd thing was after telling us that you need to make sure you leave the pool towels in the room or you can get charged for them, we only had 2 pool towels in our room. But after a call to the front desk, they offered to bring the extra towels to the pool for us so we didn't even have to wait for them in the room.

Overall this was a good stay and worth the higher prices for one night of comfort, space and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Spring Flowers room. Good catch noticing the dinosaur fossil, not a lot of people see that! Thank you for your review and your business, we appreciate both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The Madonna is quirky in many ways, but it is good to have this madness in the boring world of chain hotels. We stayed in the Old Mexican which was ideal as we are travelling with our teenage son and the room had a separate area which you could close the doors to make a bedroom. The decor was yellow, blue with tacky pictures of sad children. Totally mad. The swimming pool is lovely, open long hours and heated with hot tubs. The dining room, the steakhouse, needs to be seen to be believed- pink and gold with huge flowers. The food was expensive and odd combinations - I had pasta and was given rice with it. But there was a live band which you could dance to - very 60s style. In summary I loved this hotel, yes it's tired and pricey but it was refreshing and a must stay for a night. Embrace your inner chav!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recall being a pre teenager sitting in the then unfinished main dining area and joining my parents and their local SLO friends as they had a pop with the owner of The Madonna Inn, Alex Madonna. He was a fairly well to do contractor who laid the 101 highway in the area back decades ago He was slowly putting together the early pieces of his hotel masterpiece by the 101 in San Luis Obispo, California. He took the ladies and me to see the urinal that operated with magic eyes as it started to cascade down the water into the trough. And he went on at great length talking about cross breeding animals (like a donkey and a zebra). I just remember it was a tad strange evening, even for a little guy like me. Now the place has held forth for decades and newlyweds world wide come to spend a night or two in each or their custom designed rooms (caveman room, New England decor, etc). Drove around and saw the newer wing. In the beginning Mr. Madonna started with like 10 or 15 rooms. Now there are a whole lot more of 'em. Anyway, had a lunch in the coffee shop. Take your bank account along with you. My hot roast beef sand was nearly EIGHTEEN dollars. A tepid chocolate milk shake, $5.95. And on it went. This is for lunch. Plus my beef was blood red (who gets that in a RB sand?). Very, very disappointed. Outside I spied some rocks in an interesting design. I suspect the old guy did it on purpose. Many never catch it but it looks so similar to a wiener and two duffle bags. Go figure. Flowers around the property were awesome and the overall grounds were stunning. Spa and pool area on the upper hill area was tops and the rooms begin in the near $200 region. I'd stay away from the grub there, but a visit and night in a room would be a fun thing to do. I guess the spirit of Alex Madonna is still in the halls. He did have a vision, all be it a bit different than the Hampton Inn down the street. guess that is why the Madonna Inn is so famous. One of a kind and ever so unique

Room Tip: If you are staying at the hotel and have wheels, take a bit of time and visit downtown SLO. Wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of Madonna Inn. We apologize for the experience you had in the cafe and your comments have been forwarded along to the Copper Cafe Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the strangest place I have been on and it is so hard to write a review about it because I have mixed feelings about this place. Probably you don't have to stay here but you must go here once in your life to experience it! And go check out the men's toilet in the main building down by the wine cellar it is so funky.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.