We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the pictures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Hollywood, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than the pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our room (Fleur de lis) was much nicer than the photos on the website. It looked like they renovated and got new furniture and it was great!

I had been wanting to go here for ages and had a great time. I wish we had more time to lounge around because I saw that they have what looks like a rodeo in the back...

I went to a concert at the hall on top of the hill - nice venue and excuse to stay at the Madonna. We got in a little time at the nice pool area too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We appreciate your thoughtful review and your business at Madonna Inn! We do have an equestrian center here and recently started offering horseback riding on property. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    348
    137
    55
    49
See reviews for
245
487
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

this is a fun place to stay just for the hilarity of the rooms. i went with three friends and stayed in the italy room - kitsch lamps, pink bed spreads and gold venetian bathroom. it is a masterpiece of a hotel,andmore of a spectacle than a really good hotel.
for example,the hotel is on a freeway so a walk away from the restaurants and main strip of san luis. you can eat in the restaurant in madonna inn if you dont mind a lot of pink!
in short, go to say you did it.dont expect a luxurious hotel experience but expect the unexpected! do it as a one nighter stop off en route up or down the big sur.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved the Madonna Inn. We had a pretty boring room 'the Italy room.' But it was still different & the kids thought the details on the room were really funny. We could park right outside our room which was a bonus, with all the luggage we had. Our Internet worked great in the room. Yes, our walls were 'thin' & we could hear our neighbor's TV. The carpet is old & in need of upgrade. But the rooms are large & that's a bonus when traveling with 2 kids. Speaking of the kids, they LOVED the pool. It was well heated and they loved the 'ledge' leading from the shallow to deep end. If you have kids you will love staying here (and go to the drive-in theater just across the street!). Not sure I'd have the same level of enthusiasm if it was just my hubby & I. This is definitely a novelty inn & the kids loved everything about it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are so delighted to hear that your family enjoyed your stay together at the Madonna Inn. We value these experiences here and appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the room, facilities, and the local area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms are def fun and there are tons of photo ops, but the sleeping in the rooms is another story. The carpet was dingy and kind of dirty. The TV was small and too far away from the bed. The rock showers were very strange to actually shower in as water went all over the place and the water was loud. It also smelled dank afterwards.

On the plus side, the staff were all very helpful, the rooms are HUGE and the restaurant is cool-looking.

!!! Beware of a resort fee and the internet does NOT work in rooms only on "common areas" where I barely got 1 bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for your review! I'm sorry to hear your didn't enjoy the night stay here and that the room was not set up to your liking. We do not hide our resort fee here and notify our booking guests both verbally and on our registration form. Also, our resort fee now includes wireless internet inside of our guest rooms as well as in our public areas. We sincerely hope you will give us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What can I add? Like many reviewers have said, the themed rooms are interesting. We decided to try it as it's not an everyday experience and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Edelweiss room, which comes with the rock shower and a balcony. The room is spacious and the balcony have a good view of the hills.
There's a gym and heated pool, and a café & restaurant attached to the hotel as well. When we checked in, we were given complimentary biscuits, which were very delicious.
The location is good as well, just next to the highway.
Overall, it's a nice & unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Madonna Inn is a tacky, old hotel. It looks like a hotel right out of the 1970"s. It is obvious that they don't spend any money on updating their facilities. When we first entered our room we all smelled a terrible odor in the suite. It smelled old and musty. When my daughter went to turn down the covers on her bed she found hairs on the bedsheets. I called the front desk and asked to be moved and they said they didn't have any more rooms available. They sent someone to take pictures(why i don't know) and change the sheets. The workout room that is supposedly state of the art had a few machines and a treadmill with a sign on it saying it was broken. The steakhouse was tacky pink with huge dusty flowers that hung over you when you dined. Find another hotel because I assure you, you will not be happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here and would not recommend it to others. We feel that we have been working regularly to keep the hotel current; we have recently installed new tennis and basketball courts as well as our new secret garden and our groundskeepers work tirelessly to maintain all the plants, flowers, and gardens here. Oftentimes, we will photo document any incidents that happen so that we may use it to correct any issues and as a training tool to learn from. We strive to provide excellent service and prompt resolutions and your feedback is important to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Do not book on line. You will not get anything you ask for. Call for reservations and make sure they give you what you want. The grounds are not well kept. The restaurants are way over priced for what you get. Overall it was a very disappointing experience after years of hearing what a wonderful place it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.