We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Save Saved
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cave Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent one night at the Madonna Inn for an antique show at the Madonna Convention Center next door. The room was built like a cave out of natural rock. The shower was just like going into a cave and the water for the bathroom sink traveled down a spiral rock trough into the sink with out splashing a drop. Had coffee in the room, but limited room service and Starbucks was about a mile away. No internet service available in the room, but was in the coffee shop. Great freeway access and ample parking. Room was very clean and comfortable. A very unique Hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try one of their "Cave Suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying here with us during the Remnants Antique show. We appreciate your business and are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    287
    108
    50
    41
See reviews for
185
404
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights to visit our daughter that attends Cal Poly SLO. Picked the Desert Sands room. Checked was service was good. Room initially seemed okay. Lighting in bathroom is not very good. Toilet paper is the cheapest possible. Honestly, the TP in our daughter's dorm is better. Skipped their restaurants due to sketchy reviews. The hotel is kind of fun but definitely tired and in need of updating as other posters have noted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I made reservations months in advance and my children poured over the website picking just the right room. They settled on the Jungle Room. My experience when making the reservation was very positive and we all looked forward to our visit. As our trip drew closer it was necessary for me to adjust our dates. Again I had a positive experience with the staff and we got the reservation and the room changed. It was necessary to change rooms because of our date change so we wound up in the. Safari room. I knew when I booked the hotel that it was dated but it was so unique I was willing to overlook gold plastic outlet covers. However, when we arrived we found filthy carpets, worn upholstery, chipped furniture, and nasty bedspreads. Our rate was $269.00 per night. Surely at that rate they could afford to clean the carpets and wash the bedspreads. We wound up cutting our loses and moved to the Marriott. (Not without paying a penalty though). Sure you should stop by and look at the place it is interesting and quirky but continue down the road to spend the night there are many nicer lodging options in SLO.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel/motel is definitely still in the 20th century - like 1970s but in a fun way. Each room is themed so the fellas would be better off choosing the cave than the pink room ! Worth visiting/staying for something different but it does have a little bit of a tired feel. Still - the quirkiness factor makes up for it. The boutique has some real gems that I have never seen anywhere else. If you are driving through - stop :) Photos in the lounge of the Madonnas with their friend John Wayne

Room Tip: Some are girly and some are macho ie western = choose to suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we really loved this place, the rooms are something out of your imagination (or someone elses) the pool was great the service was great. we loved the hiking tracks too. the restraunt was amazing! would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It would have been fun just for a kitschy night - this really is a like a Motel 6 dressed up in lots of kitsch - had it not been for the 5am wake up with a half hour of "BOOM BOOM BOOM" outside the wall directly behind our bed. I had to call the front desk 3 times before they did something about it. It sounded like a HUGE washing machine that had been overloaded or serious issues with the pipes. Not a nice way to wake up when you are expecting a peaceful opportunity to sleep in. We never did fall back asleep. Later that morning, not a peep from management - no apology,no explanation, nothing. When I raised it at check-out, the person checking us out knew nothing about it but did offer to waive the $16 resort fee. Generous. If this is a "once in a lifetime experience" we've done our "once" and we would have been happy to skip even on that. If you do stay here, avoid room 149. We never did figure out what it was - maybe a ghost? Oh, the croissants from the bake shop are delicious.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 149.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had numerous recommendations to visit this hotel but nothing could prepare us for this experience. Each room has a different theme and we stayed in the cave room which was delightful. We showered in an open cave with water trickling down the rock face which was a unique experience.The hardest part was choosing a room. The restaurant's decor is a little on the gaudy side but the entire experience is so mind blowing that you don't really care. The food is pricey but good. The staff were helpful and friendly. We look forward to revisiting and trying a different room There are no lifts so request a ground floor room!

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you have cases there are no lifts. Just enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Sometimes the hardest choice can be picking out your room! We are pleased to hear the staff was helpful and look forward to your next visit. Feel free to pick out a room on a higher floor, we would be happy to carry your luggage for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.