We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Anniversary spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madonna Inn to your Saves list
Madonna Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A perfect Anniversary spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Madonna Inn around 7:30PM last night without a reservation. I had been wanting to stay here for a long time so what better time than on a last minute trip along the coast. The staff was great and very helpful and friendly. We got to pick from the rooms available and we went with the Yahoo room since we wanted a waterfall shower and it wa the last available. We got settled in and about 10 minutes later a staff member came to the door with a bottle of Champagne for our Anniverary. That was a nice treat. The room was huge and super comfy. The only drawback was the waterfall shower splashes everywhere and there were about 4 spidders in the shower that were hrd to see cause of the rocks. I took care of them but unfortunately my hubby has arachnophobia pretty bad so he did not shower or sleep well. Anyway my point to that you should just check around the rock showers for spiders if you are worried about them. We wil be back but next time we will for sure make a reservation so we can pick from more rooms. The price is a little high but for a special occasion it is fine. Ifyou do not want to spend a lot for a room this is not your place.

Room Tip: Book in advance by phone to get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are pleased to hear you had an opportunity to stay with us recently during your anniversary trip. Thank you for writing your review and recommending us for a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    323
    122
    53
    44
See reviews for
218
449
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ewing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 night here as part of a 10 day coastal road trip. We chose the hotel based on it's location (the southern end of PCH 1 following Big Sur) and it's features (off the wall decor and steakhouse). We stayed in a rock waterfall room which was probably one of the strangest experiences ever (but in the best possible sense). It felt like we were sleeping in a cave. We had dinner at the onsite steakhouse which was absolutely delicious. The steaks were huge and the drinks were strong and the dessert was outstanding, not to be missed. It was so fun, an experience we definitely won't soon forget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stay in the one of the rock rooms! We thought the Caveman Room was a trip! Loved the little attention to details: waterfall in main room, waterfall shower and sink, His and Hers clubs nest to the beds, soft robes for spa use. The bed was very cozy and warm. The Spa area was fabulous. It had two hot tubs, a beautiful pool, more waterfalls and fantastic view. The food at the Inn was overly priced, yet the wine list had some great deals. Service was a 10! I would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place was too fun. The rooms are not fancy just cool and spacious and funky. And the toilets are special--heated and more. The spa is excellent and stays with the hotel theme. And everyone has to love the pool --zero edge and big. All in all a great visit and good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our first trip here was amazing. We had the Swiss Rock room which far exceeded out expectations. The only small gripe was that the bed was a little too hard for us but I would not say it was uncomfortable. Walking on the rock floor was a little challenging at first but we quickly got used to it. The room was immaculately clean and the shower was awesome! We had dinner both nights at the steakhouse and although it was a little pricey the food was incredibly yummy, seasoned perfectly and the Pink Champagne cake was to die for! The staff in the office were very friendly and personable and unlike some of the other reviews we were fully aware of the resort fee which was told to us upfront while we were making our reservations. Our stay was only a month ago and both my husband and I have been itching to go back! So much so that we have another tripped planned for this weekend. (and another in April!) We are determined to try as many rooms as possible. Thanks Madonna Inn for being so delightfully tacky and giving us a well needed escape from our hectic and stressful reality! More reviews to come.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in Swiss Rock. We are proud to be a destination for you to relax and unwind and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the Madonna Inn and absolutely loved it - our room was great (we stayed in the Desert Sands room, which is 'understated' by their standards but it was large and beautiful), the staff were super friendly & helpful, and the property is fantastic. As vegetarians the food wasn't ideal, but I'm sure most people would be more than happy, and we enjoyed hanging out in the restaurant and bar anyways. The pool and pool bar were also fun, and although we didn't check out the spa, it seemed pretty popular. I've never been anywhere quite like the Madonna Inn, and after the kitsch, fun and awesome service, I definitely plan on going back. I'm hard to impress and I loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
What great feedback! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a funky little number to say the least! We stayed here for one night on route to San Jose from LA and it was everything we expected it to be...think Big Fat Gypsy Wedding and you'll get an idea of the restaurant area!

This is something that looks like an exploding 60's leftover from Jane Mansfield cocktail party! It is just fantastic and not the type of place you are likely to come across unless you stay here or was ever at a Jayne Mansfield cocktail party in the 60's.

The waitress was nice enough but the food was a bit [--] though wouldn't have changed eating there as it was all part of the experience.

If your considering this hotel then you are probably aware that each room is designed different. We were in one of the standard rooms really but it was still ostentatious enough!

It has a brilliant out door pool and jacuzzi that we jumped in at about 6am the following morning and had it to ourselves.

Heated to around 85 degrees it was a way to start the morning I could get used too.

Apparently Lady Madonna is still kicking and with her family, takes an active role in the running of the place.

A real relic of yesteryear and has clearly carved out a 'gimmicky' kind of space within the hotel industry of San Luis Obispo. There is certainly nothing in the area that competes with this place for character! Stay here if only for one night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonna Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonna Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.